Contact sourceSupport


Last Updated:

  1. anderssv

    anderssv New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Phone: HTC Magic
    Firmware: 1.5
    Baseband version: 62.52S.20.18U_3.22.20.17
    Kernel: 2.6.27-dd63d1eb u70000@Android-X01
    Build: 2.16.401.5 146733 CL#33743 release-keys

    Over all very happy with the phone. One issue though that I have been in contact with HTC support on:

    I can't add a contact on my phone that gets synced _to_ gMail. The other way around works.

    HTC support says that it should be possible IF i set the contact source to Google upon CREATING it on the phone. Too bad my contact source list only lists "Phone".

    They can't reproduce it at HTC support, so I wanted to hear if anyone else has had similar problems. Oh, and I'm connecting it to a Google Apps account. Seems to work very well, maybe except for the contacts source.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Jan Rune

    Jan Rune New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hei Anders
    I have the same firmware, baseband version, kernel & build as you. And I dont have that problem...

    Jan Rune
     
  3. anderssv

    anderssv New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Seems like there's not many people with this problem. Only thing I can think of that might screw this up would be that I'm running on Google Apps, not a regular gMail address. Are you running Google Apps?
     
  4. enek

    enek Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem. I use gmail through Google Apps with my own domain. The only source available when adding a new contact on the phone is "Phone". The contacts sync through google and all other contacts have "Google" as the source.

    It's very annoying that I cannot sync contacts created on my phone with Google. I have the HTC Magic FW1.5.
     
  5. anderssv

    anderssv New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been in contact with HTC support on this issue, and they managed to reproduce it on one of their handsets.

    Strangely I now suddenly have both sources. I am not sure if it's something I did, or a serverside issue that has been fixed. I am waiting for feedback from HTC to see if the issues has been fixed on their handset.
     
  6. enek

    enek Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please keep me informed if you find out how to resolve this issue.
     
  7. devilz

    devilz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please keep me informed to!
    I've got a google apps domain added to the phone (magic 1.5 taiwan imported one)
    and contacts sync to the phone fine, but i have the same problem where I cant add a contact from the phone back into google (contact source phone with no other source options)
    This is really getting ridiculous the problems with this phone, it really isnt fit for public sale with the current calendar and email issues... (the HTC support person didnt even know what google apps private domain stood for and thought i had a third party program that wasnt working and said it was a problem with my setup?)

    Im really starting to think i'll get rid of this Android thing until verion 3 or 4 comes out when maybe everything might work like every other phone out there
     
  8. anderssv

    anderssv New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey,

    Like I said, my issue has mysteriously disappeared. HTC support are thus closing the issue, but I have made them aware of this thread. They still reproduce the issue on their handsets with an account from my google apps setup.

    The little contact glitch is the only real issue I have experienced with my Magic, so now I'm a happy camper. :)
     
  9. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Sounds like you are having a phone issue and not an OS problem ...
     
  10. enek

    enek Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any ideas what you did to make it start working? Did you ever update firmware or factory reset the phone?

    Personally i love the phone. This is my only gripe thus far.

    I can see some people getting discouraged with the phone though... I had to download a lot of apps and widgets before I got my phone configured exactly how I like it. :)
     
  11. enek

    enek Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    What the frack.... Suddenly it started working. I have a Google Source now and can add contacts!!!

    I did absolutely nothing except check it every couple of days... Absolutely mystifying... :eek:
     
  12. devilz

    devilz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I still got the same problem, only phone contact source when using google apps domain, i
    Ive reset the phone twice now with no difference (one app stuffed the phone so reset it the hard way with the buttons on startup, now ive reset using the settings menu option)
    Im totally unable to add contacts onto my google apps domain using this phone.
    This really phone is really starting to piss me off with these issues, it was totally not fit for sale and the OS was not tested enough, google have to learn a BETA label does NOT work for hardware people use!
    Im seriously thinking of just chucking this phone and going iphone, i dont hear people having these sort of issues with those phones.

    Maybe its jsut HTC screwing around with the OS to much perhaps? maybe google need to find a better hardware manufacturer who doesnt screw with their OS
     
  13. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Maybe you have a bad phone just return it for replacement ....

    BTW : HTC does not do the OS -- Google is the Android OS creator and implementer...
     
  14. enek

    enek Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    It really was the strangest thing. Other than maybe installing a couple apps from the app store, I'm not sure I did anything. It might be a syncing thing and it just took a while for Android a while to figure out we can sync contacts.
     
  15. MoreYummy

    MoreYummy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    1
    Maybe try to backup your data, and factory reset/load original rom.
     
  16. kaja69

    kaja69 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, what the h..., I only have "Phone" too - contacts created on the phone doesn't sync to Google Apps??? Has anybody figured out whats going on?
     
  17. devilz

    devilz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    maybe it something todo with the existing contacts in a google apps account? (maybe a funny character in a contact or something?)
    Anyone tried setting up a new user account with no contacts in it and see if that appears as a contact source when you reset your phone with the new username?
     
  18. raffyru

    raffyru New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I experienced a similar problem. When I was using my Google Apps account the Google option in the contact source was non existent. When I reset my phone to sync with my gmail account suddenly the Google option was present in contact source.

    Is there a hotfix already for Google Apps users or are there additional settings we should change as Google Apps users to get the Google option in contact source?
     

Share This Page

Loading...