Data Roaming Question??????? charges????


Last Updated:

  1. beeperdoo

    beeperdoo Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    just got an evo 2 weeks ago. wasn't receiving sprint service in my house, just roaming on verizon... and the constant searching for sprint service caused my battery to drain insanely.

    i ended up following a guide to change the PLR of my evo using cdma-workshop and my MSL code. now i get great service everywhere and great battery life.

    however, just checked my online usage on sprint.com and it says i have used 87,000 KB of data roaming! however, the charges are zero.

    is this going to be a problem on my bill, future bills, or future service? will they eventually cut me off if i rack up this kind of roaming data usage?

    thx for your help. if sprint is going to charge me or eventually cut off my service for roaming too much, i'll return the phone and cancel my plan within my 30 days.
     

    Advertisement
  2. ScorpDX

    ScorpDX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    375
    Your allowed 300mb of roaming for free so they won't say anything about 87
     
  3. beeperdoo

    beeperdoo Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    where does it say that? i can't find it on my online account, and was never told this when i signed up.

    i'm worried because that 87 is just over the past few days. i have like another 21 days to go in this billing cycle.
     
  4. ScorpDX

    ScorpDX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    375
    Should be under the included minutes/data part of your plan.
     
  5. beeperdoo

    beeperdoo Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    it says unlimited roaming, but nothing about unlimited DATA roaming, meh.
     
  6. ScorpDX

    ScorpDX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    375
    Not sure where exactly to find it...It should read something like

    3g
    Sprint 5gb limit
    Roaming 300mb limit
    4g
    Sprint/Clear Unlimited
     
  7. beeperdoo

    beeperdoo Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    it says........


    • Everything Data 450 $69.99
    • 450 Anytime Minutes Included
    • Nationwide Long Distance Included
    • America - Roaming Included
    • Unlimited Any Mobile, Anytime
    • Unlimited SMS Text Messaging
    • Unlimited Picture Mail
    • Unlimited Data Usage
    • Sprint Navigation
    • Sprint Data Essentials Pack
    • Nights: M-TH 7pm-7am Wknd: F 7pm-M 7am
    • Caller ID
    • Call Waiting
    • Three-Way Calling
    • Voicemail
    another area i found: Everything Data, America - Roaming Included, Anytime Minutes, Call Detail, Caller ID, Cellular Minutes, Domestic LD Rate $0, Enhanced VoiceMail, Long Distance While Roaming, Mobile TV, SMS Text Messages, Video Mail
    Unlimited Nights&Weekends-7pm, Sprint Navigation, Unlimited Any Mobile, Anytime, Data Usage

    cant find anything with limits
     
  8. wrapkgb

    wrapkgb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    242
    This is correct. And the 5gb/300mb are soft caps meaning if you continuously go over the 5gb/300mb of data per month Sprint can terminate your contract with no ETF. I would not worry about it nor should you occur any extra charges.
     
  9. ScorpDX

    ScorpDX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    375
    In the fine print at the bottom of the page when looking at plans
    That's the only place I could find it.
     
  10. BenChase7

    BenChase7 VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,233
    Likes Received:
    876
    there's like two or three threads on this now...

    but, I have had roaming data (and calls) several times and have never been charged any extra charges. Data on Sprint is unlimited. Data roaming may have a limit, but with mild usage... no charge.
     
  11. Fubie

    Fubie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    35
    My account used to say "Sprint Data Roaming xxxKB/Unlimited" but when I checked my account earlier this week I noted a warning triangle and when I checked my Sprint Data Roaming section it now says "xxxKB/0KB"

    Since I have a family plan I checked my wifes phone and it does in fact say what mine used to say. What is up???
     
  12. beeperdoo

    beeperdoo Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah, i don't know. when i got my phone, i told the lady at sprint that i'm roaming on verizon at my house, and since my house is where i primarily play on my phone to download apps and whatnot, i was worried about it. she told me it's no problem and all roaming and data is unlimited. but now i find out here that there's a 300mb cap on data roaming?? i'm already at 87mb and still have like 3 weeks left to go. without a doubt, i will continuously go over 300mb a month.

    i know people say "don't worry about it.. if sprint terminates you, they terminate you" but uhm.. i NEED a cell phone every single day. i cannot just have it terminated like that. even if i didn't have a phone for one day while i established service with another provider, it'd be a problem for me. people have to be able to reach my number.
     
  13. ScorpDX

    ScorpDX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    375
    If your on a High Speed internet connection at home you can call Sprint retentions and explain the lack of signal. They'll give your an Airave signal booster for free if you complain a little and tell them your thinking of going to Verizon!
     
  14. kristv

    kristv Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    20
    I've been told by 3 different Sprint reps that there is no 5GB cap on 3G. They have done away with that apparently. There is still a cap on the data roaming, but there is no cap on 3G.
     
  15. BenChase7

    BenChase7 VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,233
    Likes Received:
    876

    You are 100% correct... no 3G or 4G caps on Sprint! :)
     
  16. beeperdoo

    beeperdoo Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks ScorpDX. I'll try calling them tomorrow!
     

Share This Page

Loading...