• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Device storage - Apps location - rooting methods

Mtn Drew

Lurker
Aug 11, 2021
Hi everyone, just signed up here and actually this is my first time joining a forum so I'm apologizing ahead of time if I make any silly mistake
So I have a Galaxy 10e and a TabA 2020 which I've added an SD card (125GB) on both devices. I started getting almost out of storage space on my tablet due to it's internal storage space being a joke. I went into Developer Options so I could switch as many apps as possible to the SD card in order to free up internal storage. Well I then noticed the apps I moved to the external were back on the internal. Not only that but I started seeing apps listed that weren't installed by me and hence the repeated internal storage almost full. I did find out that when the play store did app updates, they were the ones putting apps back to internal device so I stopped the automatic updates.
1.I was wondering if anyone knows why and how I can keep the apps I've transferred to external storage there
2. Does anyone know of a good android root that's simple enough for a novice as myself to install. I did come across the Magisk root but need to more research on it

Reactions: ocnbrze
Upvote 0
https://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_s10e-9537.php
https://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_tab_a_8_4_(2020)-10483.php
So you've got 128gb and 32gb of internal storage. You can't change that, even if you root it.
And not all apps can be moved to the external storage, that's dependant on if the app developers give it that option.

I though that if I rooted the device I would be able to remove some preloaded apps that were not essential to the device's operation

Upvote 0
I though that if I rooted the device I would be able to remove some preloaded apps that were not essential to the device's operation