Did I brick my phone


Last Updated:

  1. daddysays

    daddysays Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried to partition my sd card with rom manager.

    Finished process but i think it thought the internal memory (which is inexplicably named "sdcard") was what was to be partitioned.

    Phone will not fully boot up, goes to tmobile screen then just stops. Dont know if i can get into download mode (Think i accidently did it once, but dont know how to really, seems harder than most forums say it is.) but can boot into recovery, tried a reset, to no avail.

    I am not really sure what exactly is stored on that internal memory, and if it did partition the internal memory i need to undo it. So a few questions:

    1. Can I unpartition the internal memory?
    2. How do i reinstall all the factory things?
    3. Detailed instructions on getting into download mode.
    4. Link to pda, boot, and phone from factory, if available yet.

    Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement
  2. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    I have no clue, but for # 3 above. I was once trying to do a hard reset on my vibrant. I held down the volume rocker, and turned the phone on. Instead of getting me to the bootup menue, it gave me something that appears the be download mode. It was a Triangle with the android guy using a shovel, and I believe it said download mode. It also said "downloading....do not unplug" or something like that. Since I wasn't flashing anything, I just turned the phone off and it was fine. But you cant do a battery pull if infact you are doing a true download, it will brick.

    take care.
     
  3. daddysays

    daddysays Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the input. Unfortunately volume down + power does not work for me, I accidentally came across that screen also and now i got to some other one with a little green android with what appears to be a package with info flowing out of it, but really different from the big yellow screen that says downloading on it.
     
  4. Robinelli

    Robinelli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    37
    Ate you over your 14 days? If not and you can't fix it, I'd exchange it!
     
  5. yatimameiji

    yatimameiji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    43
    I think I remember seeing somewhere that they said do not use rom manager to partition.
     
  6. daddysays

    daddysays Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I am over the 14 days but it is warrentied up to a year, i dont think i will have any trouble getting a new one. Just dont want to have to wait all over again.

    I wish I would have read that about the rom manager too.
     
  7. krichek

    krichek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    41
    Download mode is weird.. Some phones it is incredibly easy to get into (like mine) others like my wifes it's a nightmare but. There is hope.

    You will need to use Odin and follow the directions from this link.. http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=734475

    To get into download mode if your phone is picky. Turn it off completely, then plug it into the computer. You will see a battery image come up and after a second or two the charge level will be shown by the battery being filled to a certain level, colored in green.

    When you see the battery change color. Hold down both volume up and down and then press the power button. As soon as the screen goes black let go of the power button. If you aren't fast enough this can take several tries.

    You should now be greeted by an Android holding a shovel. I think this is googles way of saying "Hi! I'm here to help you dig your way out of this mess! ;)"

    From here follow the instructions in the post I linked except make sure in Odin you check the repartition box as well ( I know it says don't but yours is hosed and you need too hehe)



    Edited to add:

    If you are using Windows 7 64bit save yourself a lot of hassle and do this on a 32bit machine. For some reason lots of folks have problems with Odin hanging on 64bit machines (it's a crappy pos when it's working so no sense making it worse for yourself)..
     
  8. daddysays

    daddysays Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the response. I did find that on XDA, and I flashed it but still black screen, i DID not however repartition, and the first time i was on a 32 bit system, but tried someone elses idea to flash to eugene373's froyo rom first then revert back, but it hangs on his, but I am on the 64 bit system now.

    Will try this all on my laptop, thanks a lot for the info, i thought i should check repartition since that is why i am in this mess and even if it worked flashing these things, at the very least i would still have my internal memory weirdly partitioned.
     
  9. krichek

    krichek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    41
    It hangs on my 64bit system too.. I tried for 3 hours to get my wife's phone up and running and was close to smashing it when I seen someone mention in the 30+ threads I had open that it worked on a 32bit system and not a 64bit.. Sure enough as soon as I moved over to my wifes computer it was flashed and going in less than 15 minutes..

    If I had to guess I would say it is an issue with the Samsung USB drivers, although Odin is buggy enough on it's own that it could very well just be it lol.

    If you need some more help let me know, I've had to fix my wife's phone several times now as it seems VERY picky when it comes to updating and installing a new rom etc so I've spent a lot of time with Odin lately :(
     
  10. daddysays

    daddysays Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I did finally get eugene's froyo on it, but one of the final steps after installing, is to reboot via cmd, i have it going but cmd says device offline. Frustrating.
     
  11. Noamericandream

    Noamericandream New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you ever find a fix?
     

Share This Page

Loading...