Different Signal with Different ROM's?


Last Updated:

  1. arock

    arock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    Has anyone else noticed having different signal strengths with different rom's. I have tried using a bunch of different ones and have noticed that the non-sense rom's tend to have much weaker signal than the sense rom's. Any ideas as to why that is? I have never had much of signal in my house, but there seem to be a lot of times that I have no signal (when i used to at least have 1 bar stock) depending on the rom I'm using at the time.
     

    Advertisement
  2. funkyfender

    funkyfender Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    16
    Bars mean nothing more or less.

    Look in Settings > About Phone > Status under Signal Strength for the measure in dBm. It should be nearly identical in all roms.

    Eris roms do not include different radios, so it should be the same for all.
     
  3. DroidJW

    DroidJW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    11
    I've flashed several ROMs....never any difference to "bars" or signal strength.

    There is new radio firmware included in the OTA update that began to roll out this weekend..so I suppose improvement is possible. I wouldnt hold my breath.:)
     
  4. arock

    arock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    I understand that the bars mean nothing as far as signal goes, but I have had a few rom's that constantly give me "No Network Connection Available" notice and will show a "x" next to the signal bars. And this happens sitting in my living room, where I have never had great signal, but have never had that happen before. I'm not bitching about the rom's or anything. I'm just trying to understand why it only happens with certain roms and not with others. Probably just the way my luck works.
     
  5. hallstevenson

    hallstevenson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    26
    Did your call get dropped or you weren't able to make a call ?
     
  6. arock

    arock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    Wasn't able to make a call or send a text message. It's kinda weird. Flashed ErisLightningBolt last night and it seems to be working better. Gonna stick with it for a bit and see how it goes. Could just be a "my phone doesn't like rom's" issue. I know that different phones respond differently to different rom's. Maybe mine just doesn't like most of them. That would be my luck.
     
  7. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    I flashed a rom that showed me with no connection and couldn't call or text either. I briefly put the phone into airplane mode - it's worked fine ever since. I don't know if that forced the rom to turn everything on or what, but as long as the phone works I'm happy.
     

Share This Page

Loading...