• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Do I need caller ID?

huntsman84

Feb 3, 2010
Hey all, I've got an HTC Hero on Telus, I'm trying to cut back a little on my monthly expenses (for all things including my cell phone) and I'm just wondering if I need to subscribe to caller ID to see the number? I heard from a friend (mind you, not a very tech-savvy friend) that you don't need caller ID in your monthly plan to see the number of the person whose calling you. Is this true? My carrier charges me 15 bucks a month for caller ID and unlimited texting, two features I feel I safely live without.

I don't mind if no name comes up and it is just a number, I can live without a picture and name popping up for incoming calls, I just don't want it to say "Unknown Number" or something like my old crappy 10 year old cell phone did without it. Sorry, I am new to smartphones and thought I'd ask. Thanks!

AFAIK the photo and the name does not come from your cell provider's call ID feature. When a call comes in all that comes over the airwaves is the phone number - that is all that caller ID is - or at least it is in the UK.

The name and photo is displayed by my Hero because it checks my contacts I have stored in the phone (or SIM) for the incoming phone number, and matches up the name and photo from them if it is recognised.

Upvote 0
15 bucks for a caller ID?!? Man, you should change your operator, that's a rip-off! :) In my operator (T-Mobile Macedonia) there are number of features as a package that comes with the payment plan, this is included in my account:

Telephony
Short message mobile terminating
Short message mobile originating
Calling line id presentation
Calling line id restriction
Call forward unconditional
Call forward on mob sub busy
Call forward on no reply
Call forward on sub not reach
Call waiting
Call hold
Multi party service
Barring of all outg. calls
Barring of all outg. int call