Do you think that this will work on AT&T?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Sgroh87

    Sgroh87 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm stuck on AT&T for the next two years (stupid contracts), and right now I'm using an N1 (which I'm really happy with). I had an iPhone for two years before that, and now I find myself wanting to try out a phone with a physical keyboard. I'm looking at maybe selling the N1 and using the cash to pick up one of these off-contract. The question is: how exactly does one go about getting a phone carrier unlocked? Can I just root it and flash a new ROM, or is the carrier lock deeper in the device? And is it compatible with AT&T's 3G bands?
     

    Advertisement
  2. ckochinsky125

    ckochinsky125 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,986
    Likes Received:
    53
    you would have to get it unlocked through verizon which usually charges for that not exactly sure how much
     
  3. egut125

    egut125 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    8
    Pretty sure it doens't have the US gsm bands for 3g though, so I believe you would only be able to use edge in the US but I'm not sure
     
    ckochinsky125 likes this.
  4. yhbae

    yhbae Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
  5. dsjr2006

    dsjr2006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    14
    I personally wouldn't believe some bogus site, but we won't know for sure until it's known what GSM and WCDMA bands are supported. If it's like the BB Storms then it could be unlocked and used with AT&T instead of the Vodafone SIM Verizon includes in its World roaming capable phones.
     
  6. LCW

    LCW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    7
    Highly doubtful it would support US 3G bands, and there's talk that AT&T is blocking VZW world phones from their network... so possibly not even GSM EDGE bands would work if that turns out to be true...
     
    ckochinsky125 likes this.
  7. dsjr2006

    dsjr2006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    14
    While it is possible it will not have US 3G bands, it is highly unlikely that AT&T would block it from their network since they have a long standing policy of allowing you to use whatever device you want provided you have the proper plan
     
  8. ckochinsky125

    ckochinsky125 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,986
    Likes Received:
    53
    They are doing that with the droid pro not allowing it to be used on at&t
     

Share This Page

Loading...