Does Tmob allow VOIP over 3G via, fr example, sipdroid?


Last Updated:

  1. nero

    nero New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello all, I'm thinking about leaving this Hero as, like most first adopter attempts, it's too buggy for me (batt. life, headset issues, sipdroid issues etc). Most importantly though.. Sprint blocks calls/texts to Chile which is severe in my case. Even when making the call via Google Voice, sprint will block any call to Chile - epic fail.

    So Tmobile... does Tmobile allow Goog Voice and/or VOIP calls via sipdroid over 3G?

    I'm already positive they won't block any calls or texts to Chile, so I'm good there.
     

    Advertisement
  2. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Sounds like a question for TMobile ... or have you setup SipDroid and given it a shot ?
     
  3. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    I've got a SIP client, using my Vonage Softphone account, working on an N900 with T-Mo.
     
  4. AZBear

    AZBear Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
  5. larryccf

    larryccf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    15

    Colnago curious - have you posted anywhere, reporting on the N900 and how it runs?

    i've been considering it, only reason i'm asking
     
  6. Howie

    Howie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    71
    Just received mine yesterday. It is really nice, just very few apps for it (which makes the Droid nice).
     
  7. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    Here:
    http://androidforums.com/motorola-d...n900-may-end-up-milestone.html?highlight=n900

    ...and here:
    http://androidforums.com/motorola-droid/26286-help-choice-droid-n900.html?highlight=n900


    I really dig it. Its not as "user friendly" as the Droid, and definately not "mass market". If the integrated search and "maps" are what you're looking for, you're gonna' have to wait, and it will be nothing like the Droid/Google. It seems like its missing a lot of "stuff", and it could be more "configurable", but there is a lot of functionality "built-in"...its really discrete.

    If you want more info, "above my paygrade", check out:

    www.maemo.org

    ...and check out their n900 forums.

    Pics for peer pressure:



    [​IMG]
    img]
    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Howie

    Howie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    71
    Have to admit I like the browser better on N900 than Droid. I can actually load up and use Google Wave with no error (albeit slow). The Droid does start off with that error about the browser not being supported, but seems to work just fine for me as well.
     
  9. KiesJeffries

    KiesJeffries New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I really like the browser on the N900 too--no problem running the voip client. Like to see some more free apps for the Droid...
     

Share This Page

Loading...