Droid is rooted but adb shows "device not found"


Last Updated:

  1. KaptainKen

    KaptainKen Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I rooted my 2.1 ESE81 Droid using SPRecovery method but decided to stop at installing busybox. Well, I found out that DroidExplorer requires it so I went ahead and started the process of installing it, but for the life of me, I cannot get adb to recognize my droid again. It worked fine when I initially used it to obtain root, but now that it's rooted, whenever I try any adb commands I get "error: device not found".

    I have the Motorola 4.2 Consumer Drivers installed, I have the Droid set to enable USB debugging, just as I did when I got the phone rooted. In fact, it was just after I rebooted the phone after installing su and Superuser.apk that the error started happening.

    I can run su and get the # prompt from the terminal emulator on the phone and everything, I just can't get adb to connect to the dang phone.

    I've been reading on other forums that some people found that the device ID's in the android_winusb.inf file under the AndroidSDK/tools folder are not the same after the phone is rooted, but I don't know about that. This is really baffling.

    I'm thinking of copying the busybox binary to the SD Card and just copying it using the terminal emulator on the phone and just running the rest of the commands there instead of trying to do it through adb. But, I'll want adb working no matter what.

    Anyone have any ideas?
     

    Advertisement
  2. KaptainKen

    KaptainKen Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was able to install busybox just by just copying it from my sd card to /data/local. I used this command:

    cat /sdcard/tmp/busybox > /data/local/busybox

    The rest of the commands are the exact commands you can get from any number of sites on how to install busybox. I just used the terminal emulator do to this.

    BUT! My problem still exists where adb cannot see the phone and therefore DroidExplorer does not see it.

    So, I've made some progress, but still stuck.
     
  3. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    do you have the motorola drivers installed?
     
  4. KaptainKen

    KaptainKen Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know if you saw this, but yes I do have the drivers installed. You can't root your phone without having these installed first - and the job of rooting the phone has already been done. Hence I had to have the drivers installed first.
     
  5. sing1gnis

    sing1gnis Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    3
    Do you have any exclamation points in Device Manager?
     
  6. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    Sorry guess I didnt read very well since I was eating my Cherios at the same time. :D You actually can root quite easily without having the drivers installed. Anyway though. If your problems started when you pushed the su app then you might want to find a different version of the app and see if thats the issue.
     
  7. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    sounds like you dont have usb debugging enabled, go into settings>applications>development then check the box for it.



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  8. s1ckGhost

    s1ckGhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    14
    He said its enabled, and he has the drivers, but he cant get the command to recognize his device.. re-rooting, an option?
     
  9. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    305
    I would try uninstalling and then re installing the drivers...
     
  10. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    woops my bad, didnt see that.



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  11. KaptainKen

    KaptainKen Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have also uninstalled and reinstalld the drivers 3 times. And after every uninstallation, I rebooted.
     
  12. KaptainKen

    KaptainKen Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    sing1gnis - I have been staring at the device manager 'til my eyes are burning. No exclamation points. That is what I've been thinking is the problem. Something in there. The wierd thing is that even when I go to do "Eject Motorolla A855 Device" on the "Safely Remove Hardware and Eject Media" icon on the system tray, it the resulting dialog says "The 'Android ADB Interface' device can now be safely disconnected".
     
  13. KaptainKen

    KaptainKen Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    If someone could compare what I'm seeing in my Device Manager to what they are seeing, it would probably help me a lot. Here is what I see with my Droid in the device manager:

    [​IMG]

    When I right click on Android ADB Interface and then pick properties and then choose the Details tab and go to the "Hardware Ids" property, here is what I see:

    [​IMG]
     
  14. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    305
    Have you tried to re install the Android SDK, and reset up adb?
     
  15. KaptainKen

    KaptainKen Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    ska.t73,
    Thanks for the suggestion. I did that at your suggestion and I'm glad because I had the old r3 version of the SDK, so I "uninstalled" the r3 version and set up the r5 version and updated my entire eclipse environment. I'm shocked that didn't do the trick. I though for sure that it would have made the difference.

    This one is a realy stumper.
     
  16. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    305
    No problem... I'm stumped... I will see what else I can think of...
     
  17. datsyuk

    datsyuk Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm having the same exact problem :(
     
  18. otep65

    otep65 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do also it worked fine till i rebooted in shell :(
     
  19. datsyuk

    datsyuk Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Mine randomly started working yesterday, I uninstalled and reinstalled the Motorola USB Drivers and rebooted my pc and made sure my SDK was in C:\AndroidSDK\tools.
     
  20. D. Ramey

    D. Ramey Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a rooted aria with super user and adb on a windows machine. I get $ in shell which means it says it's not rooted. When you have root access you should get #. Just try to back up my sd card without pulling it? Do I have to be in hboot? I dunno I'm about out of ideas.

    Oh, and does anyone know the command to exit out of adb shell? I get permission denied when going back to directories I was already in.

    Ah dumb me adb cannot run as root in production builds. OK no biggie. Pull card after unmount, stick in card reader, problem solved. I have a lot of programs and data on my sd card and titianum backup gets the rest so I give, I'll just do it the easy way.
     

Share This Page

Loading...