• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Droid X+Froyo+Root=Problems?

POC3442

Jul 13, 2010
I'm new to android from Storm 1 so obviously I'm new to the concept of rooting as well. When Moto does an update of Froyo on Droid X if we update through that will have to reroot our phone? Just wondering how this normally works for those who have dealt with this on another android phone.

I'm new to android from Storm 1 so obviously I'm new to the concept of rooting as well. When Moto does an update of Froyo on Droid X if we update through that will have to reroot our phone? Just wondering how this normally works for those who have dealt with this on another android phone.

Yes if you want to keep root you probably shouldn't update till the devs have acheived root for 2.2 because you will lose it if you update

Upvote 0
Sorry for the derail, I have another nooby question.

Yes if you want to keep root you probably shouldn't update till the devs have acheived root for 2.2 because you will lose it if you update

How does "losing root" work?

Say you have a rooted 2.1 Droid X and you update to 2.2. Worst case, you just lose root or could you brick your phone?

EDIT- I know there's always that chance, but is it generally safe?

Upvote 0
Sorry for the derail, I have another nooby question.

How does "losing root" work?

Say you have a rooted 2.1 Droid X and you update to 2.2. Worst case, you just lose root or could you brick your phone?

EDIT- I know there's always that chance, but is it generally safe?

How to UN-Root the Droid X Post two of this thread may be cause for concern for a possible brick. But other than that you should be fine. And you are most likley going to lose root.

Upvote 0
How to UN-Root the Droid X Post two of this thread may be cause for concern for a possible brick. But other than that you should be fine. And you are most likley going to lose root.