ERASE SD CARD is Grayed OutSupport


Last Updated:

  1. mibtp

    mibtp Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I deleted a large program from my SD card, yet the space has not been cleared; shows it's still taken.

    When I try to use the feature under settings>storage>SD Card, I try to select the feature to erase everything on the card. But that feature is grayed out.

    Anyone know how to get that to work, or how to get the phone to recognize that nothing is on the SD card? Give it a clean slate, or at least update?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus Contributor

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    5,625
    Likes Received:
    1,532
    Take it out and put it into A PC. Go to start/computer. Right click on the sd card Icon. Select format. Select format to default. This will take a while to format. Make sure you don't do a quick format if that option is available.
    This will wipe all data that's left. If you want to save any first transfer to a folder.
     
  3. mibtp

    mibtp Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply. I actually have a Mac and those steps don't work with my system.

    But I'll figure something out. I actually want to buy a larger GB card. Thought 2GB would be enough. Hardly. Need to find 32GB.

    Thanks again!
    P


     
  4. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus Contributor

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    5,625
    Likes Received:
    1,532
    You could try to google: Format sd card on Mac
     
    mibtp likes this.
  5. masonjones

    masonjones New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    On my phone [Optimus S, Android 2.3.3] I had to choose the "Unmount SD card" option first. Then the "Erase" option was active. "Unmount" option is just above "Erase".
     
    AndyOpie150 likes this.
  6. mibtp

    mibtp Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    That worked! Thank you!!!:D

     
  7. xsqqueezme

    xsqqueezme New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    an individual with an actual useful response that the "master" didn't have. Almost makes you want to ask why did the "master" bother wasting everybodies time.
     

Share This Page

Loading...