Fed up with Desire now.


Last Updated:

  1. shiftymorgan

    shiftymorgan Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am absolutely fed up with the desire now.

    I have no room for applications what so ever.
    Stuck on orange 2.1 and really want apps 2 sd but even this isnt really going to solve the problem.

    I dont want to flash my rom or root my phone because I really feel I shouldnt have to.
    It's not a slieght against android as I love the android platform, its just the phone has ruined it for me. I have 2 games now because I had to unistall the other and feel that until something is sorted out properly I wont return for a good while.

    As it stands I am this close to binning it for an iphone.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Griff_LI

    Griff_LI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    52
    Crikey! What else have you got installed ? I've got at least 10 games (including Angry Birds which is huge) on mine along with Google Maps (which is also huge)...
     
  3. bonerp

    bonerp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    135
    i'm not especially an android fanboy (this is my first) or a HTC fanboy, but its the best phone available at present IMHO and I've had some pretty powerful gear like the Nokia N900.
    Suggest you outline your space and what you have on the phone - maybe people will be more receptive to helping you. Otherwise you will just be informed to go for an IP4. Then we just pity you! This is a help forum - not a counselling session.... :D
     
  4. shiftymorgan

    shiftymorgan Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0

    Been a member since april and had the phone longer. I could have swore i posted a few times but ok whatever.


    I have championed android phones at the workplace to which they use now.
    and as said am just annoyed at htc.

    As for apps, angry birds diner dash, aldiko 3g watchdog, advanced task killer, astro, barcode scanner snesoid, bump, kindle dolphin browser and notes.

    I had backbreaker but cant have it on same time. I just dont get why it has to be this way.
     
  5. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    To the OP (Shifty):

    It's a Google issue not an HTC one. HTC could've got around the issue by having more internal storage space (like on the new Desire Z & HD) BUT Google never made Android to use A2SD. Even the crap version with stock FroYo isn't good enough.

    The only way of getting it how you want it is to root the phone and use A2SD (the original version). Don't blame HTC for Google's shortcomings
     
  6. Griff_LI

    Griff_LI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    52
    Open the Manage Applications setting and arrange them by size. Work out which big ones you don't need. Personally I'd lose ATK straight away, no matter how big/small it may be. I've no idea about the sizes of the others but it may simply be that they've cached stuff in your phone memory, tap on them and clear user data for them if they've got huge.
     
  7. Casual Pete

    Casual Pete Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    84
    Seems to be a good few people who come here make 1 post complaining about the phone,only to never be seen again,odd.:rolleyes:
     
  8. zafonic

    zafonic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    18
    There's no pleasing some people.
     
  9. DaddyCee

    DaddyCee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    22
    definitely a wise idea to check your cache settings for each app as you can get back quite a lot of space from there.
     
  10. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    want android and dont want to mod it?
    im in shock
     
  11. ThEGr33k

    ThEGr33k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    6
    TBH dont be angry at HTC, well not entirely, be angry at Orange for making a massive cockup of the Froyo update! I have 85MB spare on my phone and thats with a fair few apps, large ones including 15MB of Google earth! Once you can trandfer somethings to the memory card with 2.2 you will be fine.

    2 bits of advice, grin and bare it till orange sort their lives out, or Put the standard HTC desire ROM on and update to current version. I have done the latter because (and I know for certain now) the orange ROM is a giant sack of FAIL!

    Orange, you suck!

    Anyway, cheers.
     
  12. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Not just this one either. They really stuffed up the Hero. You had to root and custom rom it just to get it to accept a Sim Unlock code.
     
  13. sookster54

    sookster54 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    56
    ^ LOL

    I hear horror stories about Orange branded phones.
     
  14. speedycolzalez

    speedycolzalez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    70
    Welcome to the forum OP :D
     
  15. FelixofMars

    FelixofMars Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    21
    I think Orange increased the release date of 2.2 by another week. TBH I rooted as soon as 2.2 came out and installed a modified version. Don't expect that Orange will get rid of its apps or even release the update anytime soon.
     
  16. shiftymorgan

    shiftymorgan Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0

    Cheers, :)

    I will just remove stuff and check the cache out,

    Just having a bobbins day and it tipped me over. *breath*

    I dont really want to go down the rabbit hole of rooting my phone incase something stuffs up.

    I am tempted but witth the chance of bricking it spooks me.
     
  17. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Rooting and installing custom roms is scary at first. Heart beat increasing even. Sometimes you think you've bricked it but in the end almost everything you do is recoverable.

    In fact, on this forum, I don't think anyone has truely bricked their desire yet.

    Also, this link may be of interest.

    http://androidforums.com/desire-tips-tricks/160560-force-apps-install-sd-without-root.html
     
  18. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    9,813
    Likes Received:
    2,183
    Well congrats on finally posting after half a year of being a member ;) What took you son long :p lol

    Now is that all you have on your phone? That should be like what...20mb max.

    Although as you said, you don't need to root to get the phone do what you want. Since there IS a solution to what you're complaining about, I suggest that to root if you have an issue with the limited internal memory. General information that should apply to the Desire (I hope). Rooting should be pretty easy with the one click root. Also, you don't need a custom ROM, if you're not into that kind of thing. Just root to get super user permission. This will allow you to OC/UC your phone, delete those unwanted Orange branded apps AND move your Apps2SD. Also you can root without having to unlock the bootloader if you're afraid you might void your warranty.

    Why spend what...$800 (400 lb?) on another phone when you can simply root and have your phone work :)
     
  19. jay_kay

    jay_kay Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    96
    + 1 for this!

    Rooted mine the other day to a rooted version of the stock ROM. Its pretty much Froyo but rooted so have full A2SD. Now have a nice 512mb section of my SD just for apps. Have installed loads now and my phone memory is showing 128mb left :D

    It can be daunting, I did not realise I should not connect to the PC in Disk Drive mode and thought I'd bricked it but posted on this great forum and got it sorted straight away.

    You can always reverse the root if you want or if you need to send it back so there is nothing to worry about there.

    I've had many smartphones and have to say I am gonna have this one for a long long time, its bloody awesome!

    Hope your days getting better mate!
     
  20. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    they are the only apps you have on??? No way can you be even close to the max... Are you using htc mail app?
     
  21. shiftymorgan

    shiftymorgan Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0

    Yes I use active sync and the htc mail app.

    No Widgets of it though.
     
  22. RandomSanity

    RandomSanity Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    The HTC Desire was my first Android phone as well. I have never been a fan of apple products and have always used Sony phones up to this point.

    I too am having a similar experience to the OP, at least when it comes to internal memory. I am loving the Android OS, but am disappointed with my choice in phones due to this failing and am considering getting a Galaxy S.

    I currently have about 5-10 small widgets along with Launcher Pro and a few of the essential apps installed. After installing 5 games from the market I am completely out of space. I think this is pretty ridiculous, although to be fair the games I have installed are quite large: Angry Birds, Dungeon Hunter, Guns n Glory, Fruit Ninja and Zenonia.

    Do you guys think it would be wise to root at this point in order to get the apps to sd functionality, or would you expect an official OTA update soon? My phone is from Telus in Canada and they are notoriously slow on such matters.


    Edit

    Missed the two posts above by Roze and Jay when I replied. I was under the impression that to root was to immediately void your warranty. If this is not true than why do so many people worry about it? Doesn't seem much different than flashing your BIOS to me.
     
  23. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    9,813
    Likes Received:
    2,183
    If you have an issue with your memory, then I say yes to Root. The thing you need to remember with the Froyo Apps2SD function is that it is at the moment VERY LIMITED!!! Having apps2SD will NOT get all of your apps to the SD. This feature needs to be enabled by the developers. So until every developers make apps2SD a feature, or the ones that you use at least, you will still have to live with internal memory limitation.

    Unkown territory and people being afraid to brick the phone, although it's getting harder and harder to get that to happen.
     
  24. RandomSanity

    RandomSanity Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    I created a thread of my own in the all about root section because I felt guilty for hijacking this thread. If you have a moment I'd appreciate it if you could clear up another issue about the Apps2SD I posted there?

    Thanks again!
     
  25. sookster54

    sookster54 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    56
    There's some apps you DON'T want on the SD, such as widgets and apps that uses widgets or services (or apps you want started up on boot). Before I did the A2SD conversion I was using Froyo's apps2sd and 90% of my apps were on the SD, you can also pm setInstallLocation 2 in the adb shell to force newly installed apps to the SD.

    But when you get A2SD/A2SD+ then none of this is a concern.

    It can still happen, there's recovery images for SLCD and AMOLED units and flashing the wrong one bricks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...