• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Geiger counter app, kinda cool..

While this app does sound intriguing, I do not believe it is at all possible. There is no way a camera can detect radiation of any type. It requires completely different hardware and sensors.

I am saying this because I worked in the nuclear field for several years, and was personally responsible for conduction radiation surveys and controlling radioactive material. I have extensive knowledge of radiation and how it is detected, and currently cell phones do not have the required hardware. Someday they might have the hardware in specially designed phones, but right now they do not.

*basically this app is on the same level as the apps that can read your fingerprint off the touchscreen

Upvote 0
Actually chrlswltrs has a valid point. Android SDK only support hardware as documented in SensorManager | Android Developers

So using logical thinking, to detect radiation we can use those hardware supported by Android? Hmmm.... unless the Android smart-phone is specially built with additional hardware but that would mean no API is available to get reading off that additional hardware isn't it ?

Upvote 0
While this app does sound intriguing, I do not believe it is at all possible. There is no way a camera can detect radiation of any type. It requires completely different hardware and sensors.

I am saying this because I worked in the nuclear field for several years, and was personally responsible for conduction radiation surveys and controlling radioactive material. I have extensive knowledge of radiation and how it is detected, and currently cell phones do not have the required hardware. Someday they might have the hardware in specially designed phones, but right now they do not.

*basically this app is on the same level as the apps that can read your fingerprint off the touchscreen