GeotagGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. paulosba

    paulosba Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can anyone help me?
    The geotag on my x10 doesn
     

    Advertisement
  2. daviddakota

    daviddakota Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not tested this, but i recall one of the settings in the camera being 'scene recognition'. Have you selected it when taking a photo?
     
  3. paulosba

    paulosba Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I didn't But 'scene recognition' is one way of capture like potraits and landscape it as nothing to do with gps, the satelite sign is there, it only doesn't turn red like in Satio, I'll try, but I think it is a bug......
    Thank you.
     
  4. Bobbles

    Bobbles Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi paulosba

    Mine works fine, I switch on the GPS using the right hand screen, and switched it on in the Camera settings.
    When I took the picture it then asked me to wait while it obtained the GPS data but when finished I checked the picture and the GPS info was there.
    Have you done the firmware update yet? I wasn't sure if I had used it since so have just taken another picture and it still works.

    Just a thought does Google maps pick up the GPS? If not I think it may be faulty.

    Hope this helps

    Bobbles
     
  5. paulosba

    paulosba Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you sure?
    google maps works just fine.
    my gps is turne on and in the camera, when I turn it on, at first it appears the sign of catching GPS, when it catches appears one sign similar to a satelite, but in the picture you will not have the coordinates, upload it to picassa or google and you will see, do not trust the phone because it appears on picture information some coordinates, upload the picture to your computer, and you'll see that there is not gps information. I think it is a bug..... when I try to upgrade the firmware to the phone, it says that it is the latest updated software.
     
  6. Bobbles

    Bobbles Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah I see, you do get the info on the Camera but not when transfered.

    Haven't checked that yet, I'll have a go myself.

    Cheers

    __________

    Just checked one I took earlier. Couldn't find GeoTag info in Picasa, but wasn't sure where to look.

    However, if you use windows explorer and go to properties the info for the picture should be there, it is on mine.
     
  7. jsdstam

    jsdstam New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    X10 sold as having Geotagging but it doesnt work

    when will it be sorted

    in one month i emabrk on 9500 mile train journeya nd i bought x10 specifically

    J:mad:
     
  8. Koyanishi

    Koyanishi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    7
    if you see the satellite icon on the picture window as you are taking the picture, then the picture is geotagged. On my x10 there is no wait while gps data is obtained

    The problem is that the format for the geotag data that the x10 uses is apparently unusable by Picassa. If you look at the exif information you will see that the gps information does not look the same as exif on a photo that is read by Picassa.

    If you see the photo in mediascape and click menu/information, you will see the gps coordinates - but to see the complete GPS info you have to look at the exif data
     
  9. paulosba

    paulosba Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    the coordinates are always the same, see it on flikr and you will see that you took the pictures in the midle of the ocean.
     
  10. Koyanishi

    Koyanishi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    7
    The coordinates are correct. If you look at the picture, as I said already, in mediascape and look at info you will see the correct coordinates as to where you took the picture.

    The problem is that flickr will not read the information correctly. The reason, as I have already stated, is because the format used by the x10 is a format that flickr cannot read correctly. If you look at the exif data of the picture you will see the coordinates. You will also see that the way the gps data is formated on x10 is different from the way it is on other pictures that can be correctly read by flickr.
     
  11. neago

    neago New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    This annoyed me a bit as well - photos from the Xperia are properly tagged in the phone and when looking at the file properties in Windows. However, no matter which method I choose to use to upload the photos to PicasaWeb and/or import to Picasa desktop, the geotags do not appear. I don't know if the problem is the same with Flickr, but I suspect so.

    After digging a little with Exiftool I found this:
    GPS in EXIF are made up of 4 separate tags: GPSLatitude, GPSLongitude, GPSLatitudeRef and GPSLongitudeRef (also Altitude - I ignore it for now). The two first are the degrees, minutes, seconds while the latter two are directions: N/S and E/W, respectively.
    Apparently, the Xperia camera does not include the Ref tags in the photos and that is why Picasa will not recognize them.

    Download Exiftool and use the following command on a photo:

    Code (Text):
    1. exiftool -gpslatituderef=N -gpslongituderef=E filename.jpg
    Now Picasa is happy to show the location on the map!

    It is of course terribly annoying to have to do this - the phone should do the tagging properly in the first place.

    By the way, for a quick and easy look at all the metadata in one of your files, use this online tool: Jeffrey's Exif viewer. With a raw Xperia photo there are only 3 GPS tags, and in the composite GPS Position metadata in the bottom it will read something like "GPS Position 35.XXX892 degrees, 139.XXX903 degrees", whereas after tagging with Exiftool it will be "GPS Position 35.XXX892 degrees N, 139.XXX903 degrees E".
     
    boyturtle and Koyanishi like this.
  12. Koyanishi

    Koyanishi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thanks for your input neago.


    The geotag exif data of photos taken by x10 have the longitude as a positive (in other words it will be east longitude value) that's why they show up in the ocean or elsewhere when viewed in picassa or google earth or some other program if the picture is taken in north america. If taken in sweden or japan then the data will probably be correct. Even though the longitude value shows up as positive in exif data, if you look at the photo in mediascape and then click info, the longitude will show up correctly - go figure.

    I use IrfanView with plugins to view exif data.

    If you want to correct the geotag of exif photos, probably easiest program is Exif Pilot - its free.
     
    boyturtle likes this.
  13. boyturtle

    boyturtle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your input Koyanishi.

    I have tried Exif Pilot and that once the photo has been edited, Picasa can see the geotag and the photo can be placed on the map. Great. Except you are only able to do 1 photo at a time with the free version and converting several hundred photos is a pain. You can do batch editing in the pro version, but that costs $40!! This is a really annoying shortfall from Sony Ericsson; maybe we should lobby them for a patch to modify this? Alternatively, can anybody write an app to do this for the phone/can anyone write a batch script to modify the contents of an entire folder in windows?
     
  14. Koyanishi

    Koyanishi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    7
    I agree that this is something that SE should have done correctly and we should petition SE to do it right.

    This is one of the annoyances I have with this phone - but my major peeve is lack of voice recognition. Voice dialer on my X10i is not even close in recognizing my voice. Maybe it's expecting me to speak in French.
     
  15. frankbonatelli

    frankbonatelli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    30
    In case you are still struggling with this.
    The reason the tags do not show in Picasa or other site similar, is that SE chose to use a slightly different GEOTAG proses that is a non standard way. Not sure why but I am sure of how to get around this.
    I just tested and proofed the theory. Third party camera applications. I tested Vignette and on just the trial version it functioned one hundred percent as expected. Properly tagged and shows up in Picasa Google earth and other sites as expected too.

    Try it for your self I'm buying this app now because the x10 is my only camera every were i go. Geotagging is extremely important to me and my family.
     
  16. OpeNDoOr

    OpeNDoOr New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    +1 I have contact with SE support too many times.. and them only say that cannot reproduce the issue.

    I sent the info.. but no reply for now. Check the following >>>

    http://talk.sonyericsson.com/thread/1145?tstart=0

    Geotag not working fine... - xda-developers
     
  17. Koyanishi

    Koyanishi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    7
    They must be testing in Sweden or Japan, because the latitude will be correct there. But if the picture is taken in North American you will get the complementary latitude instead.

    I will reproduce my post that I wrote xda delopers cite rather than type too much here.

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by arcticreaver [​IMG]
    i went to astro file manager and it has the option of check or get location of maps. so i did that and it was in CHINA. i was like WTF? but then i checked out the real LONG and LAT and it seems to be correct. but somehow i guess the information gets screwed up?


    It is possible that you are placed in china because you are in west longitude but the xperia will tag your photos in east langitude.


    At least that is what happens in my X10i.
    If I look at the exif information for GPS, the latitude is correct, and the longitude number is correct except that it is given as a positive number therefore indicating east longitude whereas I am in North America therefore should either say west longitude or give it as a negative number.

    Also looking at the exif information it is as the original poster said, written in a non standard form and so picassa cannot read it. I think flickr (and possibly others) can read it but since, if you took the picture in west longitude it will place your picture in the complementary longitude instead.

    The reason that SE does not see a problem with this, may be because if they test this in Japan or Sweden the longitude will be correct - except that it is again, as the original poster stated, written in a non standard form and so unreadable by many programs. Last edited by koyanishi; Today at 01:44 PM.. Reason: mix up latitude and longitude in places
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  18. neago

    neago New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks a lot Koyanishi and OpeNDoOr for your effort - it seems that at least they are now aware of the issue in SE.

    You're probably right about the reason for the undiscovered bug - that developers are in Sweden and Japan. :confused:
     
  19. Koyanishi

    Koyanishi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    7

    Your welcome neago.

    But as you well know, the problem is more than just not getting it straight that west longitude should be express either in negative number or in a number with W before it.

    What follows is just an extension of your post #11.

    The main reason that programs such as picassa cannot read the geodata must be because of the none standard way it shows up in the exif information. Google earth (and I think flickr) can read the data but will place you in the wrong hemisphere if you are in the western longitudes (and I suspect will also place you in the wrong hemisphere if you are in the southern latitudes) - because it isn't express in a negative number.

    To make the non standard way SE is placing GPS information in the exif file clear, I am copying the GPS information part of exif file below of my X10, G1 and N82

    For the X10

    ImageDescription -
    Make - SEMC
    Model - X10i
    Orientation - Top left
    XResolution - 72
    YResolution - 72
    ResolutionUnit - Inch
    DateTime - 2010:06:09 14:14:01

    some stuff deleted

    GPS information: -
    GPSLatitude - $7 34 56.94
    GPSLongitude - $9 27 38.29
    GPSAltitude - 149 m


    For the G1

    Make - HTC
    Model - T-Mobile G1
    Orientation - Top left
    XResolution - 72
    YResolution - 72
    ResolutionUnit - Inch
    Software - Android 1.5

    some stuff deleted

    GPS information: -
    GPSVersionID - 2.2.0.0
    GPSLatitudeRef - N
    GPSLatitude - $7 34 55.90
    GPSLongitudeRef - W
    GPSLongitude - $9 27 38.08
    GPSAltitudeRef - Sea level
    GPSAltitude - 136 m
    GPSTimeStamp - 10 39 49
    GPSDateStamp - 2009:06:10

    For the N82

    Make - Nokia
    Model - N82
    Orientation - Top left
    XResolution - 300
    YResolution - 300
    ResolutionUnit - Inch

    some stuff deleted

    GPS information: -
    GPSVersionID - 2.2.0.0
    GPSLatitudeRef - N
    GPSLatitude - $7 34 56.21
    GPSLongitudeRef - W
    GPSLongitude - $9 27 37.85
    GPSAltitudeRef - Sea level
    GPSAltitude - 148.50 m
    GPSTimeStamp - 0 0 0
    GPSDateStamp - 0000:01:01


    you will notice that the GPS information is exactly the same in the G1 and the N82. It is also much more complete than what the X10 has.

    NB. I have occulted the exact location these pictures were taken by placing a $ sign instead of a number in places in case any of my many enemies are lurking here ;)
     
  20. neago

    neago New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes, that's also what I discovered - as far as I understand, the only change that needs to be done is to add the 3 Ref tags to the EXIF, then everything should be fine.

    Hope this will come in an update soon - I don't feel like doing it manually for all the photos (although it would be easy to write a batch script running exiftool).
     

Share This Page

Loading...