Google maps reboots phone


Last Updated:

  1. fparklin

    fparklin Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    So just starting like about a week ago, my phone will reboot if i go into google maps. I press google maps, press menu, then the screen goes to the white background with green htc, and reboots... This happens all the time without fail. This sucks cuz I use the google maps a lot as a traffic report and gps. This is not good.. The hero has too many problems. I feel like nothing works properly on this phone.. anyone else have this problem? fix? Please let me know..
     

    Advertisement
  2. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880

    Well it is a know issue for many, I have had it happen a couple of times also, as a matter of fact it happened today when I installed the Weather Bug and it used the GPS, it rebooted my Phone in the same way, so I uninstalled it, LOL try uninstalling the Google Maps and then update your profile, then reboot, and then download it from the market again and see if that helps, it has worked for some, report back
     
  3. fparklin

    fparklin Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0

    This does not solve the issue. thanks for the input though
     
  4. jimdroid

    jimdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    106
    There is an update to Google Maps today. Try it, if you haven't already done so, and let us know if it fixes the problem.
     
  5. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880

    Beat me too it, LOL, from reading the update does not seem to solve that issue though, but I say give it a shot, actually most say the update sucks, LOL I myself and not updating any apps for now as Sprint is replacing my phone, so I decided not to waste my time.
     
  6. AndroidNEW-B

    AndroidNEW-B Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im having this problem, but the phone wont re-boot, customer service is telling me to re-set my phone again (4th time) what a PITA this is turning out to be....loosing all my apps ect...
     
  7. fparklin

    fparklin Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0

    No. The update did not fix this. It is an internal problem, problem with the gps inside the phone. It does that sometimes when I use the Movies app and when the gps locates theaters near me. Also heard some people having this prob with other apps like sprint nav and anything that requires the gps to turn on...
     
  8. wolfgang239

    wolfgang239 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the exact same problem, it happens with any app that requires GPS. Spent an hour with someone in advanced technical support today, the issue is solved temporarily after factory reset but returns after a bit. This is not a known issue, and we passed it off as corruption from a 3rd party app. I haven't installed any 3rd party apps since speaking with tech support, and it started acting up again. This is the 3rd time I have reset, the problem always goes away and then reappears soon after. Stock Hero with Sprint 2.1 update-1
     
  9. deejay412

    deejay412 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    i contacted htc on this and they told me to do this. turn phone off, press and hold home and back button, whild holding those down press end call button. it will wipe everything off phone. i did this last week and reinstalled all my apps and it is working like a phone should now. any questions email
    deejayhoff@gmail.com
     
  10. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
    There are 2 ways to do it, but I am not sure this will solve your issue as it may have worked for one it also has not worked for many, but here is the 2 options on how to reset your phone, I will also post it in a separate thread and maybe a Mod can sticky it

    A master reset restores the original factory settings and will erase all downloaded content, including ringtones, contacts stored in the handset memory, etc. It does not erase data stored on the SIM card or memory card (if available). Back up all necessary data on the device memory before proceeding.
    Menu Path Method:

    1. From the Home screen, press the Menu Button and select Settings.
    2. Select Security.
    3. Select Factory data reset.
    4. Select Reset phone.
    5. Select Erase everything.
    6. The device will dump all of the data and reload.


    Key Stroke Method

    1. Power the device OFF.
    2. Press and hold the HOME and Back Arrow buttons. While holding these buttons, press the End Call button once.
    Release the Home and Back Arrow buttons and press the Trackball to execute the Hard Reset.
    3. The device will reboot once the process is complete.
     
  11. deejay412

    deejay412 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    the only one that worked for me was the key stroke method. htc told me that does an erase of former files that are stored in the memory from 1.5 those files corrupt the gps on updated phones. hope it helps. i love my phone now.

    d.j.
     
  12. jollybme

    jollybme New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright, hopefully this works for everyone else cause it worked for me and I haven't had a problem ever since. Some people posted that it has something to do with 3rd party apps that you may have installed therefore you would have to factory reset. And I'm sure that it's very frustrating having to lose all your customized settings everytime you reset. And even after resetting your phone, the problem comes back again after a few days.

    So here's my solution:
    1. Go to settings > location
    2. Uncheck "Use GPS satellites"
    3. It'll take you to "Location Settings". Make sure you click the OFF option.

    And voila! Go to your google maps and everything should be working fine. No need for a factory reset. I don't know why but there's some problem with the GPS. Anything that used your GPS rebooted your phone.

    Hope everything works out! :D
     
  13. westkc3

    westkc3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    4
    I just went thru this last week. The fix is detailed in another thread here, search if you want all the gory details
    The fix is dial ##GPSCLRX# when asked for the password enter you MSL. The phone will reboot and problem will be fixed. This will NOT wipe your phone.
     
    t_wilson likes this.
  14. t_wilson

    t_wilson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    11
    I started to have this problem after updating to the newest version of google maps last night, but this sure did the trick. No more reboots. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...