• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Google Play: Insufficient Storage available

nickdalzell

Extreme Android User
Jun 17, 2011
Owensboro, KY
ok from time to time my phone displays the 'low on space' notification, rarer on the custom ROM i'm running (changed the trigger to 10MB vs the usual 20MB) but it still happens sometimes, if a lot of apps are running in the background (cache?) but now it seems to kill installs too. now i'm no math expert by any means but an app claiming that insufficient storage is available (to the point install fails) when the app is only 121 KB with over 10MB left in the storage sounds off.

121KB < 10MB

either Android's math is way way off or something's wrong. is the low on space notification supposed to block installs too? even side-loading fails. i know it kills sync and texting (which is stupid enough)

i had to delete a theme and clear caches to make the little 121 KB app install. i then reinstalled the other theme which again triggered the notification during install, but it succeeded. that too seems odd. since with the theme installed prior it wouldn't even install a 121 KB app?

Actually I've seen this when an install would trigger the low storage warning (not always though, so not worked out the precise algorithm). My warning comes on at 37MB, and I've seen it when the app would take me just below that.

So I have the impression that the algorithm isn't quite right, or that it's a matter of when exactly during the process the warning is triggered. I usually find that a cache clean fixes it.

Upvote 0