• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Google Voice incoming calls won't ring

raudesign

Lurker
Dec 13, 2021
Hi, I'm new to Android and tried to set up Google Voice. When I call my Google number using another phone, my Android phone only shows a notification, vibrates, but doesn't ring. My goal is to have it ring like a regular phone.

All my devices are toggled to on (green) under "Calls > My devices". My iOS device and my Web browser both ring. I tried toggling all of them off, tested, and turned them back on, tested, it still did not ring.

I tried removing "Linked numbers" and relink, it did not ring.

"Devices and numbers" has the Android device listed.

The phone is not on DND mode, my regular incoming calls ring.

Google support says I can customize ringtones by going to Google Voice's "Settings > Calls > Incoming call notifications > Sound"; but there's no such option as "Incoming call notifications" under "Settings > Calls". There is "Message notifications" under "Settings > Messages" though.

The Android phone can receive the calls by pressing "Accept" on the notification.

In summary, when someone calls my Google number, my Android device only shows a notification and vibrates. I want it to ring, just like receiving a regular call, just like all my other iPhones and iPads and browsers. And again, all of them ring to the same call I made, the only device that did not ring is my new Android device.

I thought Google on Android is supposed to be straight forward, but everything has been extremely difficult so far. I've spent hours on forums looking for answers as if I'm fixing Windows 95 in 1998 lol. Am I doing something wrong? Please help! TIA!