Google Voice questionsSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Bug Splat

    Bug Splat Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    34
    Hey guys first time posting. My company just let me upgrade my phone so I ordered a new Inc :D. I'm coming from an Omnia running WinMo with SPB 3.5. This was my first smart phone so my experience is limited. While I liked this phone with SPB it was rather slow and whos going to turn down a new top of the line phone like the Incredible. I'm in the same back-order boat as many here so i have a couple weeks with my old phone.

    I have been using GV for a little over a year now and LOVE IT. It has worked out so well I was able to drop my personal phone (Dare) and just use my work phone and run iDialer for all my personal calls. The way I was using iDialer was through the "Calling Card" method. This means the software would dial my GV number press 2 to place a call then dial the person I selected in the contact list. For free air calls I just added my GV number to one of my 10 Fav numbers with Verizon and Bingo free personal calls to all my friends and family and my company does not get hit with extra charge if I happen to go over my minutes.

    Now, from my understanding the GV app for Android does not work this way. Correct me if I'm wrong but from what I have read the Android uses the data link to contact google and google calls me and links my call to my friends number. In iDialer they call that "Call Back" method but from what I understand it uses a different number to call you depending on were you are located.

    So is there a way to use the "Calling Card" method with the Android app so that all calls are routed through my GV number so I can continue to have that number in my Verizon Fav and not get charged for air minutes? I could just enter each friend with my GV number+p+their number (831-555-5555p831-555-1234) but that is kinda stupid and my web initiated calls would not work.

    Thanks :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. Bug Splat

    Bug Splat Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    34
    No one hu?

    Ok, are there any other GV apps that run on Android other than Googles app?
     
  3. Taylored

    Taylored Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    60
    You just need to set the GV access number in your f&f list. The Google voice access number is visable for a few moments when you dail out. Keep an eye on that number as it can change.
     
  4. Bug Splat

    Bug Splat Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    34
    Awesome! Thanks. Any idea how often it changes?
     
  5. pminter

    pminter Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,
    Just got an android phone and would like to use google voice. Is there anyone out there with an extra invite they might part with? I would appreciate it very much ! !

    Pete
    pminter57@gmail.com
     
  6. Taylored

    Taylored Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    60
    Not really sure how often it changes. I have not had it change on me yet, and it may not follow a regular pattern. I am only 3 days in though. I have GV prompt me when I make a call so I can choose between GV and VZW. That also acts as a reminder to keep an eye on the GV access number.

    Keep in mind that incoming calls will not be free unless you set you GV # in f&f as well and filter incoming calls to show up as GV... which will functionally disable caller I'D because all incoming calls will show up as your GV #.

    I hope that makes sense.
     
  7. ashorty

    ashorty Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    7
  8. Dman089

    Dman089 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    17
    How did you get your phone to prompt you to chose between gv and vzw calls??
     

Share This Page

Loading...