• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

GPS with offline/no data maps

akvasu

Lurker
Mar 14, 2012
Hi

I am new to Andriod - I got my first Android device 3 months back - a Sony Tablet. Looking to move to a Sony/Samsung Andriod Phone in the coming months... I've been using UIQ and then Symbian phones for a long time now.

My current Nokia phone - the C7 has an excellent Map Application. Supports full offline more, I can download maps for different countries, I can download different voice packs and record my own etc. Drive and Walk navigation is available. (all free too) Say what you will on Symbian - but you can't complain about the Maps.

So this has become the stumbling block to move to an Andriod Phone - I can't find any good Map software, and Google's poor 10 minute pre-cache is not going to get anyone from A to B. Plus no voice navigation.

I wanted to know if we have options for full offline usage? Also for Voice navigation ?

Please let me know - Xperia S just got released in my city and I am really tempted... this is the only stopper. I have a data pack, but offline makes so much more sense. Like if you are travelling internationally, or in area's with no 3G coverage etc.

Thanks
Anup

Hi

I am in India, but I travel to US and the Middle East often.

Yeah I am not going to give away my C7 but having 2 numbers will be a problem. It's time Android catches up in this field though... I am pretty sure with Nokia+Microsoft the Windows Mobile will take the lead soon.

Thanks
Anup

Upvote 0
Depends on which country you are in, but you could try copilot. Also, all Map apps that you can use with no internet are paid apps AFAIK because you have to buy the offline map data from them. If you have no internet, you can't download a free map of the area and you'd just be looking at a blank screen with a red dot. :p

Reactions: GalaxyBrad
Upvote 0