• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Apps Great idea for a game but no dev experience

Bobbin85

Lurker
Nov 27, 2011
I have a game idea I think could work. I have run the idea by a few friends and they think it would not only work well but their families would play it as well.

Unfortunately I have zero dev experience :( thus if I were to tackle this project it would take a tremendously long time, if at all possible. I have a full time job in another industry.

The game would rely on being location aware and able to draw on top of a google maps or other type of live map interface. I am aware of apps out there that do this (geocaching, fitness apps, augmented gaming) so I know it is possible, but it seems I would need to learn about API keys and the google application engine and so on on top of the Eclipse IDE and Java for Android.

Furthermore, as this game would be a type of MMO, I would need an online database to keep persistent data.

For someone with zero dev experience, with only a basic understanding of code, I am really uncertain if a standalone inexperienced developer can pull all of that off.

Any words of advice? Encouragement? Experience? Would be most appreciated.

Furthermore, am I on the right track? Without giving my core game idea away, if you were developing say a fitness app with live map interface that your app can draw on top of and fix to frames with data on the side, how would you go about it? Google's terms and conditions say I cannot alter their maps, and I cannot commercialize any application using the maps within it without written consent. I certainly wouldn't want to do it for free :)

And I "think" I need to create an API Key for the Maps for Android v2 API and somehow tie that to an app on Google App Engine where I can host the database. Is that correct?

If I do kick this off I will be around here for a while :)