Handcent issues with BB 1.0


Last Updated:

  1. inssane

    inssane Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    156
    TWO things:
    People do not get my picture messages.
    AND
    When the popup arrives, there is no sound alert for at least 5 seconds. I see the popup, begin to respond via voice or type, then the alert goes off and screws up the text by closing the pop up.

    I WILL NOT uninstall and reinstall this app, unless I know that it will fix both of these. If you have handcent and have tweaked it, you'll understand why I don't want to do this.

    Frustrating when Lil Jon screams "OOOKKKKKK" when you are "voice typing".
     

    Advertisement
  2. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    did you delete the stock messaging app? Cause handcent uses it for mms i think
     
  3. inssane

    inssane Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    156
    That makes sense. I used one of pete's scripts to do so.
    I will try renaming it (removing the "com") to see if it works.
    Is there another way to get it back? I thought it would remove IM app. Dammit

    edit - didn't work - I couldn't even find where the disabled app was. It wasn't visible in root explorer on RW under system apps.
    Any suggestions?
     
  4. inssane

    inssane Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    156
  5. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    305
    To get any system app back that you have deleted you can simply open the ROM zip on your SD card from your computer... After copying and pasting the desired apk (it will be in the /system folder of the zip) to your Android/tool folder on your comp you can adb push it to your phone...
     
    inssane likes this.
  6. inssane

    inssane Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    156
    Already got it covered and tested it - working

    Thanks though, now I know.
     
  7. doomedromance

    doomedromance Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    82
    If you use Titanium backup to back up Handcent then you can restore "data only" and it will restore all of your handcent settings. I've done it that way several times.
     
  8. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    515
    +1

    After installing BB V1.0, I was having a problem with the LED notification for Handcent not working. I uninstalled Handcent, did a fresh install from the Market, then restored data only from TiBu and everything was working again exactly as it should.
     
  9. inssane

    inssane Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    156
    This is what I had done, and that is when the problem began. But I too have done it in the past successfully.
     

Share This Page

Loading...