Having your voice mail code entered automaticallyTips


Last Updated:

  1. zenman

    zenman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    81
    To program your voice mail code so you don't have to enter it every time you check your voice mail:

    menu>settings>call>voicemail settings>voicemail number>
    If your code is 7777, this is how you would program it: *86p7777#p1

    The p stands for pause. Once you program this, all you have to do to check your voice mail is hold down the 1 button on the phone and the phone will do the rest.

    I'm pretty new to smartphones. This is one of my favorite tricks.
    ZM
     

    Advertisement
  2. RottenRob

    RottenRob Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Or just get the visual voicemail and never call for your messages again. It really is the best feature on this phone.
     
  3. zenman

    zenman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    81
    Don't hijack my thread RottenRob!

    (Note: RottenRob is my brother so I'm allowed to yell at him.)
     
  4. RottenRob

    RottenRob Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK this was a great idea when I had my BlackBerry but you can have VV with this phone. This is a poor mans fix to not having VV. Sorry Bro.
     
  5. zenman

    zenman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    81
    Lol, ok, but doesn't VV cost extra money each month?
     
  6. RottenRob

    RottenRob Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, this is why yours is the "poor mans" fix.
     
  7. Boomstk

    Boomstk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    26
    Or get a Google voice account and not have to worry about using verizon at all for your voicemails.
     
  8. golfinglenn

    golfinglenn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    41
    That is the best solution IF you can get an invite :D :D :D :D :D
     
  9. ncampbell21

    ncampbell21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    85
    Thanks, I'll use this until I get a Google Invite.
     
  10. Teris

    Teris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    4
    This!
     
  11. opes

    opes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    4
    I actually liked the OP help. Thanks, I just made the change in settings.
     
  12. slumpey

    slumpey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    16
    this works also:

    Setting>Call>Voicemail Settings>Voicemall number, then after your full phone number, you can add in your pin by adding P, then your pin #, followed by the ound sign.

    So your voicemail number should read (with using 212 as the area code & a generic #'s as my #) "12121234567p1234#"


     
  13. Droidboy850

    Droidboy850 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    34
    How do you get the P? It's only letting me enter numbers and symbols. If I hit pause button it gives me a comma.
     
  14. gavin77

    gavin77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    17
    Yes sir...google voice rules!
     
  15. schap

    schap Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    So 'P' is Pause, what is the 'W' for?
     
  16. lostwood

    lostwood Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    W=wait is used where you would enter something in or requires a long pause
    wait usually requires a response from the user tho
     
  17. veccster

    veccster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    54
    I use P's and W's. I also use Google Voice - which is the greatest thing in the world and completely disables the need for *86 (I shudder just saying those digits).

    You can also use this for home or work voicemail systems. For my office, I have a speed dial set up to call and get my messages. Here is the number I dial:

    ###-###-####PPP*5P214#321#PP20
    Pretty complex but the strategically placed "P" enables a pause while my system gets to point of asking me for a pin number. It then enters the pin and takes me to my messages. I even have it set to wait long enough for the system to tell me how many messages I have, before it presses 2-0 to take me to the 1st message.

    It took a lot of trial and error before everything was timed out properly but now I just press one icon on the home screen and *BAM* I begin hearing my work messages!
    But I also used to use the P's for my cell VM - pre GV!


    Oh, and anyone who pays for Verizon's Visual VM service needs to get a GV account. It does the exact same thing for free. Can't get a GV invite, buy one on eBay. They run about $5-$10 but save you the cost of Verizon's VVM.
     
  18. spal2ks

    spal2ks Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    or use youmail.com
     
  19. zenman

    zenman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    81
    I'm glad I started this thread because I'm now using youmail. Awesome!
     
  20. jbuck1984

    jbuck1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    39
    Visual Voicemail is an absolute rip off. Please don't tout this as a poor mans fix. More so than someone who doesn't want to give every single dime to their carrier. Verizon's role in my phone should be call plan and internet plan, anything else should be on the house with smart phones.
     
  21. stealthtt24

    stealthtt24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    Tip in the first post worked great, thanks!
     
  22. gmaellex01

    gmaellex01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    11
    Can the Messaging app be set up to do this?
     
  23. Anishj

    Anishj New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, the "pause" feature does not work that well on this phone, for instance, I have auto dial #9 set to call my office and have 6 P's to pause for 12 seconds (for ringing) and then the phone should enter my VM code to access my voice mail system and retrieve messages. However, if I place the phone to my ear after dialing the screen goes to black protective mode and will not recognize any pauses or enter any PIN codes until I turn the screen back on. Sort of defeats the purpose! Works well on my 3 year old Windows phone though.
     
  24. veccster

    veccster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    54
    I just asked the exact same question.
    http://androidforums.com/htc-incredible/86502-how-does-know-screen-shutoff-during-call.html

    To get around this, I have to leave the phone away from my body until all of the digits are entered. If the screen goes black before digits are entered, pull it away and it will resume the pauses and enter the digits.

    It really sucks that this does not work right. That is something I use a few times a day and I hate the design of it.
     
  25. Lars

    Lars Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    210
    And be aware that even if your phone is pattern locked that when you have a voicemail, someone will be able to see your voicemail password on the home screen of the phone.
     
    NightAngel79 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...