• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Hello, My Name Is DialOut & I Was Formerly A Hard-core iOS User...

DialOut

Oct 23, 2017
Rochester, NY
Hello, my name is Derek, and I'm a formerly a staunch iPhone user.

I'm completely new to Android, I've seen it, I've used it (older versions, which I hated) and now I'm so fed up with changes in iOS (Music, Photos, lack of computer-based ringtone/app management), etc. I'm looking at swapping my red 7+ for an LG V30.* The latest version (Nougat?) looks pretty slick. I like it so far.

I'll be lurking for a bit, to learn what's been going on with Android the past 2-3 years that I haven't used it. I'm not a cheap-phone buyer; when I buy, I buy big and I buy the best since it's my phone, media device, music player, and business device AIO.

Maybe you can help me get a jump on things, since the forum skin is a bit hard to use:
- A solid music app? The default one any good?
- Solid alternative to Google's default apps (photos, texting, etc)
- Is the Micro SD treated like an ejectable drive on a PC, or native memory?
- Most painless way to switch from iOS to Android?

Srsly never thought I'd actually consider an Android device. Like, if you knew me at all, that's the last thing I'd ever believe I'd be doing. Don't get me wrong, there's still plenty I really love about my iPhone, including support, 4 years of updates, software/hardware integration, and so on. But the latest iOS changes have got my questioning my digital beliefs.

*The audio boost alone would be worth it; that dongle is actually more irritating than I thought, since as an audiophile I detest wireless audio quality.

Reactions: dontpanicbobby