• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Help Needed - Wifi @ Home

BSME2010

Lurker
Dec 29, 2014
Hello all,
I followed the tasker profile tutorial here:

http://tasker.wikidot.com/wifi-automator

and successfully installed all tasks and profiles for the WiFi automator as well as scanning for cell towers and typing my WiFi in place of the generic one.

The tasker turns off the WiFi great when I leave the house. Problem is, it doesn't turn it back on. Ever.

With tasker enabled and the "Wifi Starter" profile active, nothing happens. If I open tasker and poke around, the only thing that stands out to me is this:

The "!Set" is what catches my eye. If I enter into the "Variable Set", I see this at the bottom:

Is there a parameter that is supposed to be entered here? It looks like an incomplete "If" statement to me, but I'm no programmer. Is this why this doesn't work? If not, does anyone know why I can't get this to work?

I've watched dozens of videos on YouTube and no one seems to have this problem. Please help! Thanks in advance.

Is there a parameter that is supposed to be entered here?
No, there is not supposed to be any parameter entered there...

Action 1 is a syntactically correct action (I'm not sure about logically correct*). It will assign a value to MYSTART if and only if that variable is not yet set/initialized (has no value stored)

You can check for yourself more about the "!" (not) operator and the "set" operator here:
http://tasker.dinglisch.net/userguide/en/flowcontrol.html
They are both unary operators requiring only one argument.

"set" takes a single variable as input and creates a boolean output
(MYSTART is the required single input to the "set" operator)

"!" takes a single boolean input and creates a boolean output
(the output of evaluation of the the "set" operator forms the single required input to the "!" operator.)