1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Help reinstalling apps with Appbrain after wipe


Last Updated:

  1. clipperqb

    clipperqb Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    100
    So I decided to wipe the phone couple days after 2.2 update. I was experiencing severe lag time while typing. Also zooming (double-tap) in browser wouldn't work. Anyway, I cant get appbrain to sync. I installed appbrain on phone and have signed in with same account but none of my apps show up just the pre-installed ones on the phone. When I look on web all my apps still show up in My Apps.
    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. clipperqb

    clipperqb Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    100
    More Info:
    It appears that there is a new app list automatically added to my appbrain web account called "Apps on the HTC Incredible" this list includes only the stock apps and it is the one my phone is now syncing with. I had to "Add to List" my existing apps over to this new list.
    Worked
     
  3. ctc

    ctc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    30
    Had the same issue with appbrain. You need to copy all of your apps from your old list to your new list. Then you can reinstall them by syncing w/ appbrain. After that you'll probably want to delete your old list and go into your appbrain settings from your computer and make the new list the default if you still have multiple lists (for example, I have a "maybe" list where I put apps that I want to look at later but not install).
     
    Duckster likes this.
  4. Terabethia

    Terabethia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    311
    What ctc said.

    To be a bit more specific...

    The apps you had originally are in a list called Apps On The Phone. The new list will be called Apps on the HTC Droid Incredible (you can change this later if you want).

    Open up that original list and select all. Then hit Add To List and add them all to the new HTC Droid one.

    Once you are all done, you can remove the original list.
     
    Duckster and MP Flinn like this.
  5. MP Flinn

    MP Flinn New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks to all for the help with process preparation before hard reset.

    However, wouldn't you think "they" (Market / HTC / Google .. SOMEONE?) could make saving ones Apps easier than all this :) While users may be skilled in using technology, we're all not "techies" or in my case resent all the time hunting down answers.
     
  6. Outlaw71

    Outlaw71 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,482
    Likes Received:
    468
    I'm curious, because I've been wanting to do a factory reset for a few days now but I want to make sure all my ducks are in a row first... I made an 'Appbrain' account and have all my apps on there now. I did the Verizon contacts back-up. But now I'm starting to wonder, what about apps like 'Notes' and 'Keeper'... does 'Appbrain' store all the info that was in those? Or do I need to go into 'Keeper', write down all the passwords that are stored it, and reenter them once I reinstall 'Keeper' after I do the reset?

    Man that sure would SUCK!!!! I have tons of passwords in there. Plus another ton of files in 'Notes'... is there a back-up assistant that takes care of ALL of that stuff without having to do it all manually? Like with my Blackberry when I backed it up onto my computer it backed EVERYTHING up that was on my phone. But I didn't get a back-up assistant disk with my Android phone, do they not have that feature for our Droids?
     
  7. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22,331
    Likes Received:
    7,598
    Can try appbackupreinstall
    the only thing appbrain does is sync a LIST of your apps, doesn't save any of your actual app data

    btw moved to Android apps section
     
  8. Lane

    Lane Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    7

    Dunno if you ever got this solved, but I wish to give you a suggestion. Check out lastpass.
    LastPass - Password Manager, Form Filler, Password Management
    This site is awesome! :) Check it out. Use FIREFOX to join this site. Your email address will be your sign in ID and you need to provide a well thought out, very unique, password - one that YOU WILL NEVER FORGET! :rolleyes: Use FIREFOX to join this site.

    Lastpass (notice it's one word) becomes a search engine and you'll get a shortcut icon on your desktop to go to their site to sign in (your email address & a well thought out, very unique, password - one that YOU WILL NEVER FORGET)! It will list all your web sites in what's called "the vault". Their web address is secure at https://www.lastpass.com.

    What will happen is after you've entered their site minimize the screen and go to whatever web site you need to "sign in" at. USE FIREFOX cause it is the only search engine they are affiliated with. Go to the web site and sign in and then at the top right of the screen a green horizontal line will appear that says (on the left of the screen) "Should lastpass remember this password". On the right click "save this password."

    Done! Do this for any sites you go to with a sign in name or ID and password & lastpass will remember them for you in "the vault." AWESOME! No more looking around for ID's or passwords. Follow what I said and you should have no trouble - - (1) a well thought out, very unique, password - one that YOU WILL NEVER FORGET! (2) USE FIREFOX cause it is the only search engine they are affiliated with

     

Share This Page

Loading...