• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

How reliable is Pushbullet compared to iMessage? - Pushbullet

James328

News Moderator
Administrator
Apr 9, 2014
I'm new to android, coming from an iPhone 6 and using osx day to day, and I was curious how reliable pushbullet is compared to something such as imessage? The ability to send sms from my desktop and keep everything in sync with my mobile was awesome in the Apple ecosphere, and I'm looking for a similar alternative for android. Any thoughts?

I would never use a message app that is tied to the manufacturer of the phone, so that rules out iMessage real fast.

I will use WhatsApp which is better anyway. everything is hidden with encryption by default.
or use Textra or Chomp, both by the same devs and both are stone cold solid in performance.

I prefer Textra

* Textra SMS - Android Apps on Google Play

I have the paid version because believe in helping the devs and getting rid of adverts.

Reactions: James328
Upvote 0
I've used Pushbullet with an iMac. I had to turn it off because the notifications were conistent and therefore annoying.

Pushbullet now has fees/limits for the free service, I think. I don't use it anymore.

There is a new text messaging app called (temporarily) "Messaging" by the Klinker brothers. The app is in beta and is now going to public beta which means it is open to everyone. You do have to join the beta group but that is easy. The fee will eventually be $5.99/year if you use the "Message from anywhere" feature. It has a chrome extension. The app is free. I don't think I'll be using the message from anywhere feature but I've tried it and it still has some bugs but they are quickly working those out. (It's a beta)

https://plus.google.com/communities/112847528442261130949

Upvote 0
Pushbullet now has fees/limits for the free service, I think. I don't use it anymore.