How to get Direct Dial and Direct Text shortcuts on XTips


Last Updated:

  1. xliderider

    xliderider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    192
    I found a way to get a Direct Dial shortcut using the free app Folder Organizer Lite. Long press the homescreen (or setup in Launcher Pro Dock) and select Shortcut, Folder Organizer Item, Direct Call, choose from your contact list.

    For the Direct Text using Folder Organizer Lite again. Long press the homescreen (or setup in Launcher Pro Dock) and select Shortcut, Folder Organizer Item, Direct Text, choose from your contact list.
     

    Advertisement
    tjreishus, thenew3, sic0048 and 3 others like this.
  2. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
    Awesome! That is one thing i missed about my Eris.
     
  3. xliderider

    xliderider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    192
    You're welcome. :)

    I had it on my Droid 1, so I was like WTF when it wasn't an option on the X.
     
  4. BodyBagz

    BodyBagz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    You can do this staright through with the stock DX...it just takes a bit of "fiddling with"...

    1) Long Press on Home screen...
    2) At pop up choose Motorola Widget
    3) When opened, choose Contact Quick Task
    4) Contacts open, scroll to the one you want a direct dial/text icon to
    5) Menu opens showing contact details..select the number you want by activating (green checking) the check mark...click Done at the bottom

    Now you should see a rather large Caller/Contact box on the homescreen...do no fret, we can resize said box! Now, to make it do what we want...the first time is a bit tricky, but if done right, from then on out it is flawless...

    7) Press the phone icon in the contact box...
    8) When the menu comes up, you should see the contact name, a phone number, and a check box with "Enable one-touch calling for this widget".
    9) Activate the green check mark, and then activate the phone icon...
    10) The phone should immediately go to dialing that contacts phone number.
    11) Test this one-touch dial now...all you need to do is tap it once...if itis working it will automatically dial that contacts number.

    Follow the same steps to do individual texts as well.

    Now, about the resizing...you will notice when you first make these contact widgets, they have the phone icon as well as an "ADD" icon in them..if all you want is to direct dial a specific contact, then do nothing with the ADD icon.

    Next we can shrink the widget to the size of a contact picture...Long Press on the Contact Widget you want to resize, when it activates you should see "pinch to zoom" indicators...pinch the frame until it is a regular icon size. When ya get it there..tap it to set it...that should have ya set to go with just an icon to tap to make a call/text to that person..

    I know its long and drawn out, but its not that hard to do after ya do a few...below is what it looks like when ya get done...

    [​IMG]
     
    swagner53, dawgfan76 and dawnierae like this.
  5. DanielM3

    DanielM3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you so much! I know the method listed above but that does not work as a swipe action for launcher pro. Thanks!
     
  6. xliderider

    xliderider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    192
    I should also mention that Apps Organizer is the free version of Folder Organizer. The shortcuts work with Apps Organizer as well.
     
  7. dawnierae

    dawnierae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    875
    Okay, here's one for ya. I did this, and it worked great...at first. This morning, when I looked at my contacts, all the shortcut icons had changed - pics still there, but names underneath are gone, and when I touch the picture, it takes me to the person's contact info in my contacts, rather than asking me which of the assigned tasks I wanted to complete. Weird....anybody know how to make the shortcuts "stick"?
     
  8. 2horses

    2horses Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    47
    I have eight of these set up to allow either phone calls or texting (the folks I contact most, by either method), and I had one go wonky and had to replace it. But the others are all fine, and I use them all the time. Most of them also have their fb profile pics too. I like that feature, but not all do.
     
  9. dawnierae

    dawnierae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    875
    I had my 10 most frequently contacted people shown, and ALL of them switched. Weirdest thing. Nobody has any suggestions???
     
  10. BodyBagz

    BodyBagz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    I havent had this happen to me as of yet, so I really cant help there. What I can tell you though, is my contacts do not show the names...only text I have is what the "quick task" is...such as "Mobile" listed under each one since it dials the contacts Mobile Phone number.

    Only suggestion I have is to make sure each of the contacts you have set up has a single task designated, such as "text" or number to dial....
     
  11. dawnierae

    dawnierae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    875
    Then I would have to have multiple shortcuts for each person. For instance...I call and text my son regularly. On my Incredible, I could have a quick contact shortcut on my home screen, and when I touched his picture, it would give me the option of several actions - call, text, email, etc. I can't find a way to duplicate this on my X. :(
     
  12. xliderider

    xliderider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    192
    This is easy. Longpress on the homescreen, select Shortcut, Contact, select your son, Select OK to Edit Shortcut, then your sons contact icon will be on the screen. Press it and then select either the phone icon or messaging icon to do what you want.
     
  13. dawnierae

    dawnierae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    875
    No, that does the same thing that what I currently have on there does - it takes me to his entire contact entry, rather than giving me just the icons to choose from.
     
  14. xliderider

    xliderider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    192
    What's the diff? You still need to make a choice of what to do, call, or text once you open the "shortcut".
     
  15. 2horses

    2horses Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    47
    When you create the quick contact widget, I have found that it is size - dependent. Make sure you have enough room on your *creating* screen to have at least a 1 X 3 widget. Long press on the open area and go to Motorola Widget/contact quick tasks and select the contact you want from the resulting list. At the top it should say "Select 3 quick tasks." Check the numbers you want to connect to under the tasks listed, then tap Done at the bottom. You can choose to leave it 1X3 or 1X2 if you want, and that way you can see both options and have a one-tap connection. I resize mine down to 1X1, and then when I tap it I get the option to text or call (the two tasks I chose).

    Let me know if this helps, or if you need more explanation. I realize my instructions may not be so clear, and I'm sure wishing I could add screen shots with this post to help illustrate what I mean! I think if you play with it a time or two though, you'll see how it works.
     
  16. ChiefHopper

    ChiefHopper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    12
    Works great except unlike the Incredible and my wife's Droid 1 you do not get a set of icons, but a list selection. (Which is what you stated. Sorry.)
     
  17. dawnierae

    dawnierae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    875
    The diff is that my contacts may have 3 phone numbers and a couple of email addresses associated with them. But I only want to have the option to call either mobile or home, and text mobile. Or Call home and email their work address. That's what makes it a shortcut.
     
  18. dawnierae

    dawnierae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    875
    I know exactly what you're saying. The problem is that with 10 contacts, this could easily take up two screens. I need all 10 on one screen. That's why I re-sized them, but doing that makes them revert to just being a "link" to that person's record in my contacts after the phone is powered off then back on.
     
  19. dawnierae

    dawnierae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    875
    And that would be okay with me....if it would stay. But once the phone is turned off, when I turn it back on, I don't get that anymore. I get taken to the full screen for that contact (complete with every number, email, their birthday, facebook etc.). I'm coming from an Incredible, too, and I liked the way it was set up on that.
     
  20. 2horses

    2horses Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    47
    Sorry, not sure why yours are behaving that way. I have eight set up as 1x1 widgets, so just takes up two rows on one screen. All I can actually see is the picture and part of the person's name. But when I tap each one, I get a dialogue box (for lack of a better term) that asks if I want to call (and it displays the number) or text. There is also a box I can check if I choose for "Remember this choice", which leads me to believe it would then be a one tap contact. A reboot doesn't affect them at all.

    So, how are you resizing them? By long-pressing the widget and using the handles? And I create mine on one screen that I leave open space on, and then move the 1x1 resized one to my contact screen. It's a bit tedious but so far has worked well.
     
  21. dawnierae

    dawnierae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    875
    Yes, that's what I'm doing. When I first create them, part of the name shows on the bottom. After the phone reboots, the name disappears, and the picture is bigger. Not much, but bigger. Weird, right?
     
  22. 2horses

    2horses Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    47
    And your definitely using the Motorola Widget?

    I'm beginning to think a factory reset is in your future - LOL!! Have no idea why they are erasing/resetting themselves. Definitely wierd. Wish I could help, but I'm running out of ideas....
     
  23. BodyBagz

    BodyBagz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    You can do that here as well....

    When you add the Quick Contact, there is the option of adding two tasks...select a phone number for one and text for the other. Then, when you click the picture, you will get a pop up asking which you would like to do...just do not enable a "default" setting...
     
  24. xliderider

    xliderider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    192
    OK, Dawnierae, make a folder with your son's name on your homescreen (longpress, folder, new). Then make direct dial and direct text shortcuts using folder oganizer lite. Drag and drop the direct text and direct call icons into the folder.

    Problem solved. :)
     
  25. dawnierae

    dawnierae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    875
    Yes, but if you read my posts, you will see that I have done that, but when the phone is powered off and then powered back on, the shortcuts I have added "reset" themselves and they forget the tasks I assigned to them, and just take me to the person's entire contact information.
     

Share This Page

Loading...