htc hero internet sharing question o.oSupport


Last Updated:

  1. jxr94

    jxr94 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    12
    when i plug my htc hero into my computer and it gives me the option to tether is this service free or does it cost money?
     

    Advertisement
  2. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880

    I believe it is free up to a certain amount of usage, I think like 5 GB, but I am sure someone that knows better will chime in here
    , because I am not sure
     
  3. KitsapAndroid

    KitsapAndroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    118
    When you plug it in to your computer, you will not actually be able to tether with that option. Sprint has it disabled. The only way to USB tether is to DL either EasyTether, or PDAnet. If you have unlimited data, you should be fine. I tether fairly frequently and have not had any crazy charges show up on the bill FWIW.
     
  4. BigJayTX

    BigJayTX Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only way to "legally" tether is to pay Sprint 50 a month for a mobile data plan. While there are ways to get around it, if they catch you, they will bill you retroactively for the months you got away with it. (So i've heard)...
     
  5. jxr94

    jxr94 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    12
    Are you rooted or just the stock 2.1?
     
  6. KitsapAndroid

    KitsapAndroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    118
    Rooted, but EasyTether and PDAnet both don't require it to work.
     
  7. flipfone

    flipfone New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    download g-script lite from the market. create a new script, check the box that says needs SU. put this in as the script (minus quotes) "/system/bin/netsharing net on && echo 4 > /sys/devices/platform/msm_hsusb/usb_function_switch" save it. now attach your usb cable and select charge only, then open gscript and select the script you just created. your pc will now see the new modem. when you are done using it hit home/menu/settings/wireless/and delselect Internet sharing.

    enjoy!
     
  8. Lozer_Kid

    Lozer_Kid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    21

    That would be crazy! :S
     
  9. jxr94

    jxr94 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    12
    Free?
     
  10. flipfone

    flipfone New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes gscript lite is free. the tethering works free also. You MUST be rooted.
     
  11. umers56

    umers56 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    so i started using the internet sharing capability and i was thinking if it charges u anything. my cellphone plan is this one:
    Sprint Everything Data Family 1500

    it includes data and all. i was researching a little and people were saying u need PAM or else it charges. but im not using it as a modem i think.

    i think i am using wifi and not 3g cause i have wifi checked on my phone settings. anyways would it still cost money?
     
  12. umers56

    umers56 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
  13. umers56

    umers56 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    come anyone know what i mean?

    !~~bump
     
  14. umers56

    umers56 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. flipfone

    flipfone New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    yes. free. i have heard if they catch you they will charge you for it. but ive never heard of that happening. if your rooted and install they latest cyanagenmod froyo you can use wired tether or wireless.
     
    umers56 likes this.
  16. umers56

    umers56 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    k but how can they catch u?
     
  17. chawski

    chawski Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    36
    if you have rediculous data usage not consistant with what the phone can or should be able to do its gonna throw up red flags
     
  18. umers56

    umers56 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    how much data usage is red flag?
     
  19. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,378
    Likes Received:
    16,472
  20. umers56

    umers56 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sprint Everything Data Family 1500

    thats ma plan.

    i was wondering if the plan covers internet sharing?
    i use a usb and i dont knwo if it is going through wifi or 3g. not sure. still learning about my hero.
    thanks in advance.
     
  21. umers56

    umers56 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    bump~?

    anyone know my answer?
     
  22. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    I merged your duplicate posts into a thread already discussing this. If you read from the first post in this combined thread, you will have your answer, I believe.
     
  23. treborcj

    treborcj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    33

Share This Page

Loading...