HTC Hero Sync - Help


Last Updated:

  1. k847ybm

    k847ybm Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, I hope someone can help -


    Now the new ROM update for the HTC Hero is available naturally I want to install it so I want to use HTC Sync since it says it wipes your phone during the upgrade and I don't fancy installing everything again.


    My problem -
    I've just downloaded and installed the latest version of HTC Sync but for some reason it doesn't look like the software picks up that my phone is connected via the USB. On the website it says in my notifications bar on the Hero it should say if it has picked up HTC Sync - The only notification I have is to mount/unmount my SD card to copy/view files, nothing about HTC Sync.
    I have rebooted, un-installed and re-installed the software but no joy at all and I need this ROM upgrade! Please help me, someone....
    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. cwrig

    cwrig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    14
    Is HTC Sync running on your pc? Does your pc detect the hero when you connect it via usb?
     
  3. daffyduck

    daffyduck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    42
  4. k847ybm

    k847ybm Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    HTC sync opens yes but says not connected even though my phone is connected via usb.

    The pc does recognise my phone yes, its only an xp machine if that makes a difference?
     
  5. daffyduck

    daffyduck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    42
    Have you tried to use the notifications drop down from the top of the screen, to start the Hero PC Sync application? This is what solves the issue for me..
     
  6. k847ybm

    k847ybm Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep all I see is the usb notification where I can mounr/Unmount sd card
     
  7. daffyduck

    daffyduck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    42
    Hmmm. You should have the Sync option as well. Have you tried a Factory reset?
     
  8. abijma

    abijma New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    please try this.

    - connect your hero to the pc by usb
    - restart your hero while he is connected by usb
    - after restart the sync notification icon is displayed on the hero
     
  9. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,386
    Likes Received:
    16,492
    That usually indicates that the PC Synchronisation app on the handset isn't running. As mentioned rebooting the phone should sort that.
     
  10. k847ybm

    k847ybm Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys, the reboot of the phone sorted it and I have the new ROM upgrade. I did presume the HTC Sync would back up my sms messages and people in my phonebook but what a suprise I had after the install of the new ROM - All my messages and contacts had gone.

    Luckily I still had my previous contracts sim card that still had my contacts so just imported them to my phone.

    Thanks again.
     
  11. mbaseball3

    mbaseball3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    htc sync still isnt locating phone. even after following all the things you guys tried.
     
  12. tHERO

    tHERO Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I had the same problem for me there were two things wrong:
    HTC sync installed the software so it would run, but not the drivers so it wouldn't find the phone. You can download the zip file from the HTC site, plop them into your system folder for HTC drivers.

    The other issue was that the pc did not recognize the phone in the device drivers (because there werent any) - so once those are in there, find your device (look for ADB that needs a driver update) then choose update and to MANUALLY locate the drivers, point them to the folder you plopped them into - reboot, reconnect and it *should* walk you through the wizard. Good luck!

    Now... if anyone can tell me how to sync this to my *car phone book I would be much indebted... used to work fine with my treo, its like droid doesnt even see an incoming request and I cand find any options to upload phonebook...
     
  13. rooneyc

    rooneyc New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    can anyone help.... it maybe just me being silly or not doing something simple...
    I have installed the HTC Sync on my computer...however when i select Sync on my phone it keeps telling me it cant find it and to install it????

    any ideas?
    thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...