HTC rom update for RogersSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Lobo

    Lobo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    2

    Advertisement
  2. coscom

    coscom Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    As someone who is expecting to recieve my unlocked Rogers Magic any day now I was wondering if anyone could tell me if this is safe to run on it or if running the update might relock the phone? I ask because I am going to be using the phone on AT&T so I need it to be unlocked however it would be nice to have the fixes. Thanks in advance for any information.
     
  3. PaulieORF

    PaulieORF New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm in the same boat as you. My unlocked Rogers Magic will be arriving soon, and I'd like to know if this update will screw up the unlock.
     
  4. coscom

    coscom Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just as a heads up, I read over on the XDA's Saphire ROM developement forum that this update includes something called Perfected SPL which makes it masively harder to Root the phone. I'm not entirely sure if I will be rooting mine or not but I thought I should mention this just in case it helps anyone here.
     
  5. crisv

    crisv New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. enek

    enek Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    According to the HTC website here are the updates:

    -Improves the overall device functionality and stability
    -Enables correct SMS timestamp
    -Enables Chinese character display for POP3 HTML Emails
    -Corrects E-mail client exchange Issues

    This update will also unroot a currently rooted phone.

    What other updates are in this?
     
  7. DThor

    DThor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Coscom, thanks for that tidbit about Perfect SPL... I'm always a little leery about rumours like that, but for now it's enough to keep me away from this upgrade until more info surfaces. Apparently the SMS security hack that was one of the big reasons to get this patch isn't as dangerous as initial reports had said(apparently with android the worse it can do is bump you off the network for a few seconds), so now I'm not seeing a lot of reason to upgrade. I suspect if/when I do upgrade, it will be via rooting, and it looks like sticking Perfect SPL into the mix just makes that harder.

    DT
     
  8. TriC

    TriC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    2
    I goto htc's webside and try and download it but I can't when I type in my Magic S/N it just get a message say "Sorry, this software download is not suitable for your device." I have a rogers magic so why can't I download the update?
     
  9. Lobo

    Lobo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    2
    same happened for me.. go to Rogers website and get it
     
  10. TriC

    TriC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    2
    yep I just went to rogers site and did the update it worked well..
     
  11. Lobo

    Lobo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    2
    i cant get it to recognize my phone.. dont know why either because i rooted it or ??? thought it would unroot phone but i guess thats not gonna happen if it cant even recognize my phone.. anyone else have this problem/blessing lol
     
  12. HepC

    HepC Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know if I can update my rom (rogers) on the htc magic using a mac.

    thanks.
     
  13. dreamoo

    dreamoo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did something wrong during the update.. and now when I plug my phone into a PC the phone won't get recognized.

    When I run the ROM updater from the Roger's site now it gives me an error message that the phone isn't connected. Now what??

    When I turn on the phone I get the white screen with the icon on the bottom that's like a computer chip with a red blockout.. if you know what I mean? Help... how can I get the phone to connect to my pc again?

    Edit:
    SAPPHIRE PVT 32A SHIP S-ON H
    HBOOT-1.33.0009 (SAPP50000)
    CPLD-12
    RADIO-3.22.20.17
    MAY 8 2009,21:02:32

    RUU
     
  14. MoreYummy

    MoreYummy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    1
    So it will erase everything on the phone, like contact, download, sms, favorite, etc?
     
  15. Lobo

    Lobo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    2
    you try uninstalling the HTC snyc software?.. i had to do this a couple time and then it recognized my phone.. but i never got as far as it screwing up my phone like it did for you.. i just noticed it was the htc sync software and not ruu software that wasnt recognizing my phone... you get it from same sight as ruu..

    and yes it wipes all apps etc.. what i do is keep all my contacts on my gmail web page so when i do any new hero rom or any rom it automatically syncs my contacts.. and just re d/l apps
     
  16. mrdagz

    mrdagz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi is this Frimware 1.5 ?
    i am in the Uk and my phone which i got this week came with that version preinstalled.
     
  17. MoreYummy

    MoreYummy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    1
    It should not.
     
  18. ratchetjaw

    ratchetjaw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    10

    Its safe to run on at&t. I am on at&t with my Rogers magic. If i had to do it all over again i wouldnt update it though. Now rooting and trying to load a Hero ROM are pretty much over for my weak skills. Its way harder with the perfect spl that it puts on the phone. Oh well supposed to get the official in october and hopefully it will be a RUU update like this one. Although i am liking the magics basic android right now with a different theme
     
  19. shadesguy

    shadesguy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an unlocked Magic on AT&T (and love it). It cost me a good amount so I'm not messing around with rooting it right now (I did 1-click rooting on a T-Mobile Mytouch that I had for about a week and a half) so I went ahead and did the Rogers ROM update and other than having to add my APN back in, everything is working great.

    There are no major changes that I see, but it does seem to be running smoother. There were a couple of other differences, that I noticed last night, but I can't put my finger on them right now.

    I love having the magic on AT&T 3G (T-mobile's 3G only covers some of St. Louis right now)... I would like to have it rooted, but I went for the official ROM for now.
     
  20. trick202

    trick202 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    49
    This does not bode at all well for UK Orange users eagerly anticipating an HTC Hero update.
    :(
     
  21. TriC

    TriC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    2
    I went to rogers web site and I could download the update.. so it could be updated.. but funny that HTC's site will not let me download the update. but after downloading the update from rogers the update went well. took about 5min to upload to the phone.
     
  22. mjschmidt

    mjschmidt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    113
    Is it worth it to run this update? I mean, for the hassle of doing it, what are the benefits?
     
  23. MoreYummy

    MoreYummy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    1
    I want to know is there any real good reason to do the update.
    Is it the same update from htc and rogers'?
     
  24. UnderWhat?

    UnderWhat? Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    34
    If you really want this update and root, download the HoFo community ROM, it has it implemented i believe
     
  25. MoreYummy

    MoreYummy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does it still have camera problem?

    going to check out if it has the new updates in hofo rom.
     

Share This Page

Loading...