• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Improving Battery Life?

The only thing I don't love about my Rezound is the battery life. Yes, I know this is going to be the case with these 4G mini-computers, but in lieu of getting external chargers, spare batteries, etc, I just first wanted to know how I can improve the battery from the core of the phone, specifically when it comes to rooting, romming, and/or under/over-clocking. I'm a newbie to all this stuff so seriously appreciate direction.. but first just some questions:

1) I was thinking of using CleanTOOL to at least remove the VZ bloatware. In your experience (those of you who've done so), does this improve battery life, and by how much?

2) And to go further, have any of you who've rooted and are running a different ROM experienced drastic improvement in battery life? If so, what ROM/kernel are you using?

3) Have any of you used a great battery saver from the market that has really helped with battery life? if so, which ones?

4) anything else?

Seriously appreciate the help, just trying to get the most out of this amazing device (without sacrificing too much performance..)

Thanks for the input. Sorry if i wasn't as clear in my original post, I don't mean to say that I thought just rooting period would improve battery life.. I wanted to know if removing or freezing bloatware would improve battery life, and if so, by around how much.

-So the process to go about this would just be to unlock and root, then install Titanium Backup to freeze the bloat correct? What about CleanTOOL, won't that also remove the apps? Preference toward either method, and ss the battery life increase only minimal (like..5%?)

-In your experiences, which ROMs and Kernels have given you the best results for increasing battery life? Appreciate the suggestions.

Upvote 0