• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Increased Battery Life

I'm having horrible battery life problems with my Droid 2 Global. I followed this how-to to a T and I'm managing to get ~8 hours of totally stand by time, no use at all. With light use, it drops to a little under 6 hours, with "average" use the battery goes from 100% to dead in 4 hours or less, usually less.

Any ideas?

I otherwise like the phone, but having to be tethered to a charger almost constantly is making me seriously consider taking the phone back and getting something else.

I'm new to all of this so, please be patient with me. I have a droid 2 global for almost 3 weeks now. Out of the box the phone's battery life seem to be so-so. I'd get though 6 hours with some moderate/light use (a little surfing/gaming and a couple of calls). Finally a few days ago, I downloaded the Advanced Task Killer and used to to have a look at was was running on my phone. I was surprised to find quite a number of stuff running that I didn't know was running. Some of them are apps that I've hardly touched or *never* run. :eek:

I'm not sure if this advice will work for you guys, but if I see stuff running in the background that I don't need, I kill it. Later in the day I'd look at it again and find some of those programs back on the task list. Some of them are I guess what some called "bloatware" - stuff that cell carriers install and you can't get rid of them. But some of them are programs that I downloaded and neither found useful or kind of forgot about. These are programs IMO, should be looked at a closely and you need to decide if you really need them. IMO, these programs shouldn't be sitting in the background after I get rid of them. Today, my D2G has been running for 8h16m with 70%. I'm not totally sure if it's a fluke, but I'm going to keep an eye on it.