• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Is it really this complicated?

tinymandolin

Jun 5, 2010
Hi, I just received my (sprint) HTC CDMA Hero yesterday (06/04).

It is:
Firmware version: 2.1-update1
Baseband: 2.42.01.01.27
Software#: 2.27.651.6

In an effort to remove unnessary apps that it came with (Sprint Nascar & Sprint NFL) I have been trying to research how to delete them. I'm not interested in any further changes to my phone.

But everything I've read says I need to make sure to do a flash and nandroid first for backup, but before I can do that I need to root the phone, and then w/ rooting there are tons of instructions on how to root for the 1.5 firmware and just yesterday or so the 2.1 was successfully rooted, but it seems like it was rooted for 2.27.651.5 ... I don't want to brick my phone by attempting to root when my software went ahead and did the OTA so now it's a 2.27.651.6 ...

I'm completely new at this. These terms -- mounting, rooting, flash recovery image, etc. -- is all so new and unfamiliar. All I want to do is delete the very basic stock apps that came with the phone. That is all, nothing else. Just get rid of the Sprint NFL & Nascar, etc. apps so I can free up space and keep the battery from draining all the time. I don't want to use a Task Killer if I don't have to, I'd rather just get rid of the unneccessary stuff.

Would anyone be kind enough to give me the Rooting for Dummies walk-thru? All the walkthrus I've read, even the ones that say they are simple, leave me with a few questions. If anyone is willing to help me out by guiding me to the simplest, easiest, cleanest way to root my phone & get rid of those apps, that'd be great, cause that's all I want to do.

Thanks for taking the time to read this :eek:

If all you're looking to do is delete some unnecessary apps, then no it's not that complicated.