just rooted 2.1 & memory dropped??


Last Updated:

  1. starsnlaughter

    starsnlaughter Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    All ive done so far is remove nfl (imma girl ;) ), stocks, nascar & twitter.. it was 135mb before rooting. Now its only 108. Is that normal?

    Sorry if this is a repost but none of the suggested threads seemed to cover this.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    are you using the stock Tom or a custom one?
     
  3. Lozer_Kid

    Lozer_Kid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    21
    how did you remove those apps?
     
  4. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Please refer to the guide/faq. I believe FAQ #19 answers your question.
     
  5. starsnlaughter

    starsnlaughter Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joehunni.. :) i'm still using the stock rom. i work nearly full-time and have a 1-year old.. i rarely even find time to do anything with my phone, let alone make phone calls, so i mainly just wanted to remove the apps i wasn't using.

    Lozer_Kid: i removed them using some guide via adb shell. worked perfectly. no errors or anything. =) i can't find which site i used. i think my brother-in-law erased my browser history from this morning.

    ccapasso.. I looked at FAQ #19 and am not sure how that answers why I have less memory now than I did before I removed the apps via the adb method that #19 refers to.

    Somewhere, on one of the sites, I remember seeing something of where they had to do something for the phone to reflect the saved storage. i thought just re-booting, but i tried that and it didn't change the memory # at all under Settings > SD & Phone Storage at all.
     
  6. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    Ok, you sure you don't need to just delete cache or something, go under settings > applications > manage applications, once it's all loaded up hit menu and then the sort option. This will arrange it so that your biggest apps are listed in descending order, just click on them and then clear cache.
     
  7. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    If that doesn't take care of it, just root then flash a rom like darchdroid or froyo, then you'll have gobs of free memory regardless lol.
     
    starsnlaughter likes this.
  8. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278

    I wasn't referring to you. I quoted Lozer_kid and sent him that way.
     
  9. starsnlaughter

    starsnlaughter Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0

    I'll consider flashing Froyo.. hearing a LOT of opportunities with froyo.. but until then, I had cleared my caches and it removed my bookmarks, i had to re-sign in to a few of my applications & re-grant permissions from my gmail log-in for location preferences. I hope I don't have to do that frequently!
     

Share This Page

Loading...