Lost sales over signal bars ......General


Last Updated:

  1. dan409

    dan409 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    24
    So I have shown my phone off to many colleagues and most are blown away by the speed, screen, etc, etc you know the drill......lol

    After awhile of jaws dropped they notice the signal bars and compare to there signal... OOOOPS...... it has been a huge turn off. Go ahead and try to explain away its not an accurate indicator and go into dbm readings when most folks don't even know what android is... lol

    Man if I were in marketing for this cell, I would be pushin hard for a OTA to get this fixed..

    One friend of mine with a $20 dollar track phone had 5 bars to my 1 or 2.. Down right embarrassing.

    Come on HTC get your act together on this as this is one of the first things non techies are gonna be looking at..... sheesh
     

    Advertisement
  2. paimon.soror

    paimon.soror Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    76
    There was a thread a while back that stated an htc rep said when the phone isn't in use, it switches to a power save mode hence why you see minimal bars. However appearantly when you start using the phone to make a call the bars shoot back up.

    I can't confirm the truth in this, but it might be something worth researching
     
  3. phobic

    phobic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    42
    Did the $20 track phone have 5 bars of 3G? Im gonna guess nope.

    At any rate the signal quality compared to my Droid, which I still have, is noticeable to me. Ive been thinking of going back to it but I really do like the incredible a lot. Sigh...
     
  4. sean76

    sean76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4,460
    Likes Received:
    779
    Dan, your going to get Flammed by people real soon saying it has nothing to do with the performance of the phone, and there signal is great and call quality is fantastic, and that there incredible makes them waffles in the morning... I agree though, a flaw indeed! However it can most likely be fixed wit an update which we should see by early to mid summer...Hopefully!!!
     
  5. dan409

    dan409 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    24
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    This is not an issue at all for me as my dbm reading have been great no matter where I have traveled. I understand that the signal bars have really no true vaule for measuring actual signal quality.


    I was just trying to make a point that for those who are not very cell phone savvy, this could be a major turn off....
     
  6. Mitch R.

    Mitch R. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    6
    He has a good point here. I understand that the bars don't accurately reflect signal strength as do most of the posters in this thread. But those seeing this phone for the first time, even after this is explained to them will think differently and have reservations about the device.
     
  7. brian0488

    brian0488 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    6
    "Bars" are not a unit of measurement and are not standard across phones.

    I too was upset over low bars, until I was holding my inc and my friend's BlackBerry. He had 5 bars I had 1. I went into the settings of both phones and we both had -89dbm as our signal strength.

    I also noticed that I constantly have 1 bar until I get a call or start using data. Then it jumps to 4 bars.
     
  8. rushmore

    rushmore Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    8,267
    Likes Received:
    1,355
    In people's defense that do post about bars, why did VZW marketing not catch this in tests, since it IS a factor and sets wrong impressions about Inc?

    VZW need to send a fix out ASAP to point facts out and correlate bars more correctly with dBm levels.

    BTW, I notice the signal sometimes seems to "rest" when not in use and then goes up when using data. There may be something to this power saving angle.
     
  9. jayno20

    jayno20 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    24

    I have tested this a few times in a few different places and EVERY time I place a call the bars go up 1 to 2 bars as soon as the call connects. It really does seem its a power saving feature. Doesn't really bother me because I get the same call quality that I did from my LG Dare.
     
  10. heyeaglefn

    heyeaglefn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    54
    Boo Hoo, if you need to impress your coworkers or friends by how many bars your phone gets then go get a Satellite phone.
     
  11. Outatime

    Outatime Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    651
    Seriously, screw the bars. DL Speed Test and show them that.
     
  12. tranceFusion

    tranceFusion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    26
    Am I the only one that thinks the bars are accurate?
     
  13. dan409

    dan409 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    24
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    You have missed the point of this thread. Just saying that I believe the vast majority of folks thinking of purchasing this phone will be turned off when they compare signal strength to there own device. Every previous phone I have owned has had between 4 or 5 bars of signal strength in my home. The vast majority of folks that I know are not going to take the time to research that it is really not a problem at all with reception, just a problem with bars not being an accurate indicator of true reception.

    It took me alot of research to figure it was not a problem with this phone. You get this phone after much anticipation and after awhile you see the 1 bar of signal strength when all of the previous phones (even cheapish ones) had either 4 or 5 bars. Huge disappointment.

    Just thinking that HTC and VZW could save themselves a ton of money and headaches by getting this resolved ASAP.

    This forum is proof enough that a ton of folks still believe no matter what they have read in here that their phone still has lousy reception and are thinking about a return. Yeah, we know better that isn't the case, but I assume the vast majority just figure that the phone has bad reception and are thinking about returning it, or not purchasing it at all.
     
  14. bryn987

    bryn987 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    5
    I agree. I can't see how showing 1-2 bars less then it is saves battery. Everyone looks at bars when they are about to use a phone.

    Much better ways to save battery imo
     
  15. jakeh0

    jakeh0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    42
    you can make phone calls on this thing?
     
  16. bjanow

    bjanow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,763
    Likes Received:
    477
  17. bjanow

    bjanow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,763
    Likes Received:
    477
    Dang, learn something every day.
     
  18. Haelous

    Haelous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    111
    This was defeated in the same thread. The phone switches from 3G to 1X when making a call, and the signal bars reflect 1X signal at that time.

    As usual, representatives feeding customers bull.

    That doesn't mean that sleep mode doesn't exist. The way I understood it, is that the 3G logo works like this: Not present - No 3G Signal, Gray - Sleeping, White - In use.
     
  19. lmbgm

    lmbgm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    27
    I ran into this problem too. I had a friend with a LG dare and was trying to compare db values, but I didnt know how to pull up that info on a dare
     
  20. jwm2

    jwm2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    270
    Yes you are. I've got a droid eris running android 1.5 and i had a rooted eris rooted running 2.1. As soon as i rooted my eris the bar display dropped 1 bar, even though the db rating was exactly the same. That in itself is proof the bars don't represent the true signal quality.
     
  21. sean76

    sean76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4,460
    Likes Received:
    779
    The point is, how did this make it past testing? whether its a flaw or not, there is no way this should have made it past testing...just like there should be no issues with call quality. This is Verizon, the supposed to be Superman of the cell phone industry. They lay there hat on the fact that these issue don't exist within there network, well they just arrived. And if it is in fact an HTC flaw, they better fix it ASAP. Cause u dont get too many chances to make the splash they did with all the hype about there devices.
     
  22. jwm2

    jwm2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    270
    Its not a htc problem and its not a verizon problem. Its with android os 2.1, its a google problem. Why are people here so thick headed about this kind of thing? Its just a signal bar, get over it people. Move on.
     
    howarmat and Outatime like this.
  23. Haelous

    Haelous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    111
    Then why do Droids with 2.1 display more bars with the same dbm?
     
  24. tluv00

    tluv00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    249
    It's not just a "signal bar" issue. I had a Droid and in my office I got about -75 to -81 dbm and with the Inc it's -90 to -101 dbm. It also fluctuates from 3g to 1g and it's not a power saving thing because it happens while I am using data services and sometimes lose the connection.
     
  25. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218

    Its just a "signal bar issue", for those in clean signal areas, or areas with less interference. Its more of a problem for those suffering from QoS issues (echo, lost audio, dropped connections, increased battery drain, etc). I can see it being a problem for me, esp. if the Inc. has consistently worse "real world performance" than the Droid, since I had to make an antenna mod for it, due to dropped conn., etc., in my area.
     

Share This Page

Loading...