• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root LTEVO ROOTING FOR DUMMIES {The Complete Guide}

Sorry - I hope I'm not hijacking this thread....

I'm not a complete noob - I previously rooted a Samsung Replenish & flashed 2 ROMs on it. This HTC is a lot more trouble (as you already know.)
I have tried a couple of "one-click" root programs, but none worked. I decided to carefully try to root manually, but cannot get the bootloader to show S-Off.

Evo 4G LTE

Boot loader shows:
***LOCKED***
JEWEL PVT SHIP S-ON RL
HBOOT-2.09.0000
RADIO-1.13.11.0830
OpenDSP-v31.1.0.45.0815
eMMC-boot
Oct 18 2012, 15:46:20
(Then all the Hboot options & instructions below that)

Here's what I've done so far:

Installed windows drivers (XP sp3) and SDK mini-tool kit
Turned off Fastboot in power settings
Rebooted into Bootloader
Selected Fastboot & pugged in USB cable
Acquired token & pasted on HTC Dev site
Received unlock bin file from HTC Dev site
Ran fastboot with the bin file
Getting error that it failed.

Any suggestions about getting S-off so that I can finish rooting? The main reason I want to root is to remove the bloatware that Sprint has on the phone. The second reason is that I'd like to be able to push more apps to my SD card (32 Gb, Class 10). If this can be obtained without S-Off, please point me in that direction.

Upvote 0
Yes - I put it in the c:\SDK-tools folder with the other files downloaded from HTC. Typed (not copy-pasted) the fastboot command but it keeps saying there's an error.

Just wondering, but does the token and unlock code change each time you access the bootloader or can I keep trying the same unlock code multiple times (in other words, does it change like a Captcha does each time you open it up)?

So, am I correct in assuming that S-off must be obtained before rooting can be achieved, even with the stock ROM?

Upvote 0
Dang, it's always something.

Let me think...