1. HUGE Androidforums.com UPDATE! Learn what's new (and download the new app!)
    Dismiss Notice

M8 Android TV Box - Sound GoneSupport


Last Updated:

  1. John Irvine

    John Irvine New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi,

    I have today received my Android M8 TV box and been going through the regular set upstuff. However, Ive somehow managed to loose the sound. I've been through all settings but cannot seem to get the sound back on (and I have tried the mute & volume buttons on the TV box remote).

    Once I switch the TV back to TV the sound is there!

    Can anybody please help, it is so frustrsting!

    Thanks

     

    Advertisement
    victoriawhite and metsmdc like this.
  2. metsmdc

    metsmdc New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have the same problem. do you, in any way, found the answers already? and yes this is so frustrating. i cannot watch anything
     
  3. metsmdc

    metsmdc New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have the same problem. do you, in any way, found the answers already? and yes this is so frustrating. i cannot watch anything
     
  4. goggles

    goggles Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    4
    Do you get the sound when going through the Kodi menu?, check to see of you have sound when going through selections in the os, also the hdmi cables that come with the box are not the greatest, try another cable.
     
  5. metsmdc

    metsmdc New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    No
     
  6. metsmdc

    metsmdc New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, there's no sound in kodi or in the web. and okay, im gonna try another cable
     
  7. goggles

    goggles Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    4
    If sound is still a no go, go into your display settings and turn off hdmi auto detect and select your setup manually
     
  8. Bradford23

    Bradford23 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Go to setting, wifi, advanced (tab),
    Scroll down to 'digital audio auto-detection' and turn that off.
    meets with the next item down...
    digital audio output.

    I have hdmi but sound goes through optical cable so my set choice is
    'SPDIF pass though'

    Oh btw last comment said turn off hdmi auto detection...don't because mine is on and it's working.


    Good luck
     
  9. victoriawhite

    victoriawhite New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0


    Hello I'm having the same problem with the sound it's not working at all could you help me somehow fix the problem?
     
  10. cadilac69

    cadilac69 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi anyone having issues with no sound with m8 box. running kodi 14.0. hdmi cable. ethernet cable on virgin broadband. have i missed something on set up ?. volume up on hand set, where is the volume on the kodi setting i cant see one. any help please. cadilac69
     
  11. Davyboysteel

    Davyboysteel Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Same problem here. It was working fine last night and now no sound at all.
     
  12. Davyboysteel

    Davyboysteel Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi, I had the same issue and my supplier has informed me that it has failed a software update and requires the firmware resetting.
     
  13. roofdog

    roofdog New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, open Kodi, goto system, settings,and up to video, at the bottom of settings change to advanced settings, then go to acceleration. there change hardware acceleration to software. if that doesn't work, change back o hardware acceleration and uncheck all 3 options below it. That worked me, and utube has a vidio to show to you also. Hope this helps!
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2015
    #13
  14. Davyboysteel

    Davyboysteel Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the advice however, I took it back to my supplier and he re flashed it for me. All working once again.
     
  15. pdoth

    pdoth New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had this problem ever since 'upgrading' to the M8. I know what is happening but don't know how to correct it. It is something to do with the M8 over HDMI cable. For some reason it changes the HDMI sound setting on the TV to OFF. You can check this by simply going into sound settings on your TV and check it out.

    It is usually connected to some minor channel or APP change that does not work properly resulting in a signal being sent from the M8 to the TV to set HDMI sound to OFF. If you use composite or SPDIF this problem does not happen. I'm assuming it is some software glitch on M8.
     
  16. LID

    LID New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same problem on new m8s/s812. Can't reach vendor. Any ideas/help would be most appreciated. kodi 15.2, android 4.4. There is no sound out of the box, it's not just kodi.
     
  17. pozzydrive

    pozzydrive New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    This worked for me, a pain having to do it every time though, but it worked. whilst playing a film or TV program, pull the HDMI plug out of the droid player, then plug it back in. Not saying this is the answer but worth a try. Good luck.
     
  18. LID

    LID New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, got it working... don't ask me how or what I did, but it is working. I believe it has something to do with a connection out of the box. I tried different connection combinations to isolate the problem, and when I connected the box back I had sound (?)... So, I don't think the settings have anything to do with anything, if you just plugged your stuff in...
    But, fyi, my settings:
    • On display tab: HDMI auto-detection
    • On Advanced tab: digital audio auto-detection, digital audio output (greyed out) HDMI passthrough
    • On settings tab: Sound: set to max
    Good luck.
     
  19. pozzydrive

    pozzydrive New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Glad you got it working.
     
  20. Mark Abrook

    Mark Abrook New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same or simular problem.

    Start watching a film then the sound goes off every 20 secs then just goes.

    Any help please.

    MGII box
     
  21. Davyboysteel

    Davyboysteel Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Arrrrggggggggggghhhhhh it's gone again. Tried all suggestions above and still not working . Help!!!
     
  22. Mark Abrook

    Mark Abrook New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Iv got my money back as nothing worked, going for a different box this time.
     
  23. Davyboysteel

    Davyboysteel Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answer
    Tried everything above, no joy. The only way around is a reset. Ensure that you have backed up and saved to an external SD card prior to resetting.
     
    BlackJack5 likes this.
  24. Peter Gallon

    Peter Gallon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Been having the same problems. I think pdoth's response above (#15) is on the right track as it appears to be the interface between the tv and android box over hdmi.
    I dont have a long term fix but you can stop it happening by clearing the kodi cache and stopping the app in setting;advanced;apps;kodi then click clear cache and stop the app. When you restart kodi this fix works about 80% of the time.
    A much simpler work around is to start your movie in kodi, pause it then switch your tv off then on. restart your movie and the sound is back!
    On some tv's it must be switched off at the wall.
    Hope this work around helps.
     
  25. tru21

    tru21 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys,

    I had the same problem on my M8S. I observed that each time I fired up a 5.1 movie my sound went down on whole system, not only in Kodi. Everything was fine with 2.0 movies. What worked for me (so far) was to navigate to kodi audio settings and set Number of channels to 2.0. (that is NOT number of speakers, you still get 5.1 with this setting).

    lemme know if it works for you
     

Share This Page

Loading...