• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Medical Apps

docp

Apr 29, 2010
I'm going to be a PGY1 starting in July 2011 and I'm trying to get some good medical apps. I transferred my license to Unbound Medicine's Medicine Central to android from winmo (includes 5-Minute Consult, A-Z Drug Facts and a few other programs).

I also have Epocrates because sometimes I just can't find what I'm looking for in A-Z. I have MediCalc which is okay but isn't the best for medical calculations. Does anyone recommend anything else?

What specialty are you trying to enter?

I think you've got pretty much all of the main ones, I'm not a doctor, but I've been helping my wife set her phone up (she's an Internal Medicine PGY-3). She pretty much only uses Epocrates at this point, and only rarely. If I'm doing the math right, you're a 3rd year right now, but by the end of your 4th year, you should have a knowledge base where you're not depending on these as much, and after a few months of your intern year, you'll rarely need to call on them.

Upvote 0
I use Skyscape frequently in the ER. I've got OCM, ABX Guide and Emergency Medicine Manual. My favorite is the free one, OCM. It's really excellent and comprehensive. I used to pay about $100 a year for it before the Android freebie. Epocrates is also a superb interface and I use it daily. Particularly good for checking interactions.

Reactions: ajamudc
Upvote 0
I am heading into my third year of medical school and have been trying to diversify my apps before hitting the wards (so I haven't tried any of these in a clinical setting yet). My findings on Android thus far:

Free:
Epocrates (which is free, but in beta and only available on android 1.6 or higher)
Skyscape: this has drugs, medical calculators for about everything and a fairly decent database on disease (its no Harrison's or Robbins, but its pretty good for a quick reference).