Missing Unknown Sources in ICSSupport


Last Updated:

  1. leesee

    leesee Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought a Rezound online that came with ICS 3.11, however, it does not have the unknown sources box under Security to allow me to install 3rd party apps. I've never had a phone where this was missing.

    I'm wondering if I would get the new OTA since it's not rooted and if that would solve the problem or if I have to root to get that to appear?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Harry2

    Harry2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5,186
    Likes Received:
    1,347
    Maybe the "Gingerbread place"? :)
    I think, it was Settings, PC connection ...

    Harry
     
  3. leesee

    leesee Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope, not there either.
     
  4. Cares

    Cares Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    38
    Are you 100% certain?

    System settings -> Security -> Device administration -> Unknown sources
     
  5. Corki2

    Corki2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    80
    Try installing an apk and see if you get a prompt that will take you to the setting.
     
  6. leesee

    leesee Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0

    Yes, I'm 100% certain. I go to Settings, Security and there is no Device Administration.

    I have:
    Screen Security-screen lock- lock phone after - make pattern visible- vibrate on touch
    Passwords -make passwords visible
    Credential storage - trusted credentials- install from phone storage-clear credentials
    SIM Card lock - setup SIM lock
     
  7. leesee

    leesee Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried installing Swype. I have the apk but it takes me to Security where there is no options for unknown sources.
     
  8. Corki2

    Corki2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    80
    Have you tried a hard reset?
     
  9. leesee

    leesee Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I haven't. I didn't want to have to reinstall everything since that's my only issue with the phone.
     
  10. Corki2

    Corki2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    80
    A bad flash maybe. Sorry.
     
  11. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22,274
    Likes Received:
    7,521
    Is that the leak?^



    Oh by the way. I have the OTA and I can't seem to find it either :confused:
     
  12. leesee

    leesee Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think so. Got it on eBay and the guy said it was an official build they were testing. His friend supposedly worked for Verizon and it was a test phone.
     
  13. gruss

    gruss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    116
    Sooooo.....this is curious? Anyone else on the OTA able to sideload apps? I think I'll keep .10 for now, seems like this would have popped up sooner though, its in settings>security on mine.
     
  14. leesee

    leesee Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, I gave in, backed everything up and did a factory reset. I am still missing the unknown sources option.

    In addition, I still didn't get the newest ICS update. Still only have ICS 3.11 that came with the phone.

    Any ideas?
     
  15. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22,274
    Likes Received:
    7,521
    Unless I am missing something there IS only 1 ICS for the rezound???? What do you mean by newest ICS???????
     
  16. leesee

    leesee Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    From what I read online the released version was 3.14, mine is v 3.11. Plus I'm still missing unknown sources. At this point, i don't even care about the version but I do want unknown sources to install non google apps.

    Do you know if I root if that would give me the unknown sources option?
     
  17. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22,274
    Likes Received:
    7,521
    yea, mine is 3.14 (ends in .12)

    did you install a RUU to get ics??

    You need the RUU for .12
     
  18. leesee

    leesee Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I didn't install anything for ICS, that's the way the phone came to me. When I did a factory reset, nothing changed with the version. Just want to be able to install some 3rd party apps at this point.
     
  19. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22,274
    Likes Received:
    7,521
    You need the RUU....

    Can someone link to it? I'm on the run
     
  20. acejavelin

    acejavelin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    899
    Likes Received:
    256
  21. leesee

    leesee Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page

Loading...