My Behold won't boot after deleting management.apk cache : /


Last Updated:

  1. Cepheus

    Cepheus Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    This phone is less than a week old , would T-mobile take it back? LOL


    I was simply messing around...it's stuck at the ANDROID screen

    What else can I do to it to revert it back?
     

    Advertisement
  2. dan0zone

    dan0zone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    22
    Were you following my tip??????
    If so , you are supposed to clear DATA , when you go to settings>applications

    Nothing is wrong with your phone .,.,., Turn it off then hold down volume down + call button + power button ,,,, when you see the top left says 'recovery mode' , then press menu twice ,, this is a hard reset....
     
  3. chadmd23

    chadmd23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    57
    I had this happen before deleting the data, but just used a battery pull (old blackberry trick) and it rebooted fine.
     
  4. dan0zone

    dan0zone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    22
    the phone takes a little longer to boot after data cleared . If while booting your keypad lights up and stays on then your "boot_looping" if it comes on and goes off in a few seconds you will see the home screen ..
    after hard reset clear data and restart ,,, then clear it again ,, then install your apps ., to see what causing you to loop...
    Also ,, if you Rooted and have a home replacement installed ( this has been known to also cause boot_loop) , you might need to install BusyBox to fix the issue ... the script is in this forum ,...,
     
  5. Cepheus

    Cepheus Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys It's working once again =]
     
  6. psychoace

    psychoace Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    20
    Also clearing device management doesn't help since on reboot all that memory is taken up again. You will always need 40 or so Mb free in order to boot up your phone. Also dan0zone it's a slow first reboot back because it's writing all that information back into memory
     
  7. dan0zone

    dan0zone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    22
    nope ur wrong , first boot is slow , but normal after that .. the app does not rebuild the data if you clear it through the default app manger , when I cleared it , it went to 716kb and is still that to this day ...I've got 45 apps installed with 74mb left , I believe the device management app is some how tied in with PcStudio from Samsung , like active sync is on WM.. All other android devices boot well without such an app , this phone does not need it .. I have seen no performance issues at all , I am even rooted with busybox ...
     
  8. psychoace

    psychoace Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    20
    I cleared it through the regular app manager multiple times and it keeps coming back after every reboot. Maybe it works for some but not everyone.
     
  9. shawn1224

    shawn1224 Ex CEO-DNPSEA foundation VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    292
    I followed the tip on clearing the cache in device management where you free up 40MB of space but ever since then I incurred nothing but problems. Numerous reboots and hard resets where the handset would get stuck on the Android screen. If I turned off my phone it would only load to the Android screen. After my last hard reset I decided to leave the device management apk alone and I haven't had a problem since then. I think that 40MB or so is intended for some purpose and It's probably not wise to delete this information.

    Just my experience
     
  10. yatimameiji

    yatimameiji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    43
    Going by the name of the app, it could be this is how Tmo manages the phone. I know I read an article about how Verizon changed everyone's blackberry to use Bing instead of google as the default search. I say this since I used to have the myfaves plan, changed it over to even more plus, but the change in plan wasnt right a way. After I got the txtmsg saying my plan had changed, the myfaves app disappeared from view on the phone.

    So it could be that the phone when it boots up is getting information from the network and rebuilding it. But again all speculation.
     
  11. psychoace

    psychoace Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    20
    When it got stuck on the Android boot do you know how much space you had left on the internal memory disk?
     
  12. shawn1224

    shawn1224 Ex CEO-DNPSEA foundation VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    292
    Had about 98 MB after I cleared the cache when I was getting stuck on the Android screen.

    Now that I leave the Device mgmt alone I have around 62 MB available, but no more freezing up.
     
  13. dan0zone

    dan0zone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    22
    You guys are too funny ,,,,, I'm going to stick with what I've said .. Shawn I have had NONE of the issues you have described , and it sucks that you have experienced nothing but headaches following it . I hope it will still help others ,AS , this is still a learning period for us with the Behold2 and Samsung's customizations....
     
  14. shawn1224

    shawn1224 Ex CEO-DNPSEA foundation VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    292
    Yea I could be completely wrong on this instance but this is what I've experienced. At first I thought it was a certain app (open home) that was causing it stay on the bootloader screen but even when I had touchwiz as the default, my phone still wouldn't boot past the android screen. I tinkered with uninstalling almost every 3rd party app including taskiller and I was still getting similar results. The last thing I did was to not clear the cache in device management (knocks on wood) and now when I turn off/turn back on my device it goes straight to the touchwiz/open home ui option.

    By process of elimination I just assumed it had something to do with that but I could be completely wrong.
     
  15. dan0zone

    dan0zone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    22
    I am using open home as my home replacement ,still no issues . One thing I noticed is that if you install an app that requires root and you my rooted it will cause a loop . If you are rooted and using openhome or other replacements ,you need BusyBox installed to fix the loop...
     
  16. itsamti

    itsamti New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks a ton guys, i had same problem and that resolved as per instructions given.

    I joined this forum to say 'Thank you'!!!
     
  17. chadmd23

    chadmd23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    57
    So I finally had a crash which caused an auto reboot, the first since I deleted a bunch of the stock apps. I was nervous since I had deleted the device management data, and probably would be close to the total limit of the device since I have tons of apps. Well it looks like the device management did not show up after the boot, and everything seems to be running smoothly. A very nice surprise!
     
  18. dan0zone

    dan0zone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    22
    JUST a FYI .... the lag we get at start up is not because of lack of memory , its because everything is pounding the processor AT the SAME time ....
    That thought of boot needing memory is true , but that memory is built in to the kernel and always there for boot ...

    ai can not tell you that device management apk is directly tied in with samsung's PCstudio software , like active sync and WM . I have now deleted the apks ( the ones with wssc in their names ) and that got rid of the device management apk....
     

Share This Page

Loading...