My Eris kind of turned into a piece of crap with 2.1 upgrade...anyone else?General


Last Updated:

  1. gm991

    gm991 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    6
    Anyone else feel this way?
    I think the 2.1 is to much for the hardware in the eris.
    Is there anyway to go back to 1.5??
     

    Advertisement
  2. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    Yes, some will say no. But I was able to do so no problems. I went back to 1.5, then r00ted my phone. best decision I've made I now love this phone.
     
  3. hookem

    hookem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    44
  4. gm991

    gm991 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    6
  5. gm991

    gm991 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    6
    Is it hard to get the phone back to 1.5?
    How do I do it?
     
  6. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172
  7. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    Yes it will. That's exactly how it fixes it since it resets it back to a factory install and removes any conflicting apps or settings. You might as well try it, because if you go back to 1.5, it will wipe everything anyway.

    Note: Anything on your memory card will remain, and apps you bought are tied to your Google account, so it will remember that you paid for them.
     
  8. hookem

    hookem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    44
    +1 Just try it! :D
     
  9. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172
    ^Agreed, I hadn't noticed that you had never performed a factory reset. It may be worth a shot, considering you will be losing everything on your phone if you root as well. I have read many positive results over the past several weeks after people had hard reset their phones. I would give this a try before trying to rollback, unless you really want 1.5 for root purposes.
     
  10. hrbib21

    hrbib21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    34
    Factory reset definitely improved mine. I had random restarts, phone wasn't ringing, and other issues. After the reset and some tweaking, I've had no problems now.
     
  11. gm991

    gm991 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    6
    OK guess I will write down all my app's I have and then just go back into the market and reinstall them all after, I don't have any pay app's.

    So everything on the card stay's?
    Can I just remove the card before doing the reset?

    How do I do a reset??
    thanks guys, hope this works because I did LOVE this phone.
     
  12. hookem

    hookem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    44
    Menu > settings > privacy > factory reset

    Don't have to remove card, but better safe than sorry
     
  13. hookem

    hookem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    44
    Double post
     
  14. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,620
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    The first time that you go into the market after the reset, all of the apps, including free ones, will be there. Just do not leave the market until everything is installed. (In the market app after reset, click menu, then downloads.)

    That said, I suggest installing the application AppBrain, set up an account, sync with it, go into AppBrain.com from a desktop browser, select all of your apps and copy them to a list called "just in case". That way, in case the market is messed up, you'll have a list of apps that you had online (and a fairly easy way to install them.)
     
  15. gm991

    gm991 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    6

    OK did the hard reset, now what tweaks do you sugest?

    thanks
     
  16. Shakes The AssClown

    Shakes The AssClown Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am very disappointed with the battery life. I charge all night...and just a few hours later I am down to 60-70% with hardly doing anything intensive. Maybe a text here and there and a quick hit on the net. Done the tweaks for battery life..but nothing is really working. I hear others are getting a day and half...I wish I could get one day.
     
  17. gm991

    gm991 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hey thanks for the info on getting my app's back after re-set.
    Worked great on getting all my app's back.

    Phone seems to be back to some what normal, time will tell.

    thanks for the advice guys.
     

Share This Page

Loading...