Need help with SDKSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Shorte85

    Shorte85 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    14
    I think I need someone who knows what they're doing or someone who will be helpful to say the least. I am very stuck, and I am getting a little frustrated about the situation I am in. It seems like it should be a simple task, but apparently not for me and I see that some others have had the same situation but I can't seem to pin point a solution for it. Anyways, the problem I am having is I want to be able to take a screen shot with the SDK program. The reason I am wanting to do it this way is because I am on the limited data plan, and please I have already heard enough about I should get the unlimited data plan and I understand this. However, I am unable to do that right now.

    I understand that in order to take a screen capture with the PC is by downloading the Android SDK program, along with the JDK as well. Which I have done, and I have it on my PC now. I hook my phone to my PC and the following windows pop up:

    (screen shot -->) http://img440.imageshack.us/img440/8128/45517130ade549448e4241b.png Now, I have previously tried Installing Drivers, which shows in the first box to the left. However, when I click on that a site opens up to verizon: Entertainment and Apps from Verizon Wireless - V CAST Media Manager but unfortunately I am unable to download it because I have x64 bit Vista windows. So I am not sure how to bypass this part if this is the cause to my problems.

    So I close all the windows, since I figured I didn't need them open. I went to the SDK folder that was placed on my desktop, opened the tools folder and double clicked on the ddms.bat folder a CMD black window pops up for a split second and then disappears. Now looking on the internet, some have stated that you need to right click and run as administrator if you are Vista or Windows 7, and I tried this as well but no go.

    On my phone, I feel the settings are correctly set. Which is go to Settings > Applications > Development > USB deubugging - ticked

    I am at a loss here, I didn't think this was going to be such a pain in the butt to do. However, I am hoping there is someone out there that has figured out a solution to this problem and I would highly appreciate any help you can give to me. At this point, I am willing to do anything just to be able to do one simple thing such as RUN DDMS and get a simple screen shot. LOL

    So frustrated!
     

    Advertisement
  2. fckinfamous™

    fckinfamous™ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    9
    Try downloading the phones drivers and changing that file so that it is in windows xp compatible mode.
     
  3. Shorte85

    Shorte85 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    14
    If I am incorrect on what you mean please let me know what you mean more elaborate. But you were talking about taking and changing the compatibility mode for the V Cast thing right? Or am I missing something.

    If so, this is what came up:

    [​IMG]
     
  4. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,067
    Likes Received:
    8,533
    Maybe try locating the phone in device manager. Then install driver from there, pointing to the SDK/USB Driver folder as the source location.
     
  5. Shorte85

    Shorte85 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    14
    I just went through and did this with a friend over the net. But I am still having the same issue of getting the DDMS.bat file to open and stay open.
     
  6. v8dreaming

    v8dreaming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    9
    Honestly, it would be easier to root your phone with unrevoked and install drocap2. You could then drag and drop the screen cap from your phone to your computer.
     
  7. Shorte85

    Shorte85 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    14
    I did do the whole thing for the hboot drivers (a friend walked me through it), and it shows up in my Device Manager like it should.

    I guess my thing is, why is the cmd closing as it opens?
     
  8. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5,577
    Likes Received:
    1,958
    Not sure but you might need to open a command prompt as an administrator first and run the file from the command prompt by navigating that command prompt to that folder.
     
  9. Shorte85

    Shorte85 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    14
    I'm not completely sure on how to do this, do you have like a step by step how to for this part? I'm still stuck on getting this to work.

    If anyone can help, I would highly appreciate it!
     
  10. Shorte85

    Shorte85 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    14
    I was able to get my issue solved by getting the correct Java for my system downloaded. So my problem has been solved, finally!

    Thanks to those who tried to help me, especially mykela! :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...