new HTCsync (16oct2009) enables tethering?Support


Last Updated:

  1. SDscorch

    SDscorch Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    9
    from HTC's site...

     

    Advertisement
  2. Edaze55

    Edaze55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    1
    I almost got excited for a second. After checking the site, its the same 2.0.5 HTC Sync that ships with your phone.

    So, while it does say that, unless something has changed on Sprints end. The mobile network sharing wont work.
     
  3. SDscorch

    SDscorch Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    9
    ah

    gotchoo




    it said today's date

    and it SAID mobile network sharing


    so... you could forgive me for thinking it *meant* what it said
    lol
     
  4. rckozma

    rckozma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    Although I have not tried it yet. I do see in settings - wireless controls, the last option on my phone says Mobile network sharing, it is grayed out right now and says attach usb cable first.
     
  5. rst531

    rst531 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. chocmatic

    chocmatic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    52
    1. Make sure your device’s data connection is turned on. See “Getting Started With Data Services” to learn
    how to turn on the device’s data connection.
    2. Connect the device to the computer using the provided USB cable.
    3. Press Menu > Settings > Wireless controls.
    4. Select the Mobile network sharing check box.
     
  7. padro82

    padro82 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    is tethering included on all plans or do i need to shell out more money!?
     
  8. Archon810

    Archon810 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    81
    Doesn't work for me. As soon as I turn that option on, the phone starts telling me about the wrong vision username/password. I have to turn the option off to get rid of the error. Only way that worked was with the PDANet app but it's not free. Either way, bluetooth tethering, which I had with my old Samsung A900 doesn't exist for Hero, which sucks.
     
  9. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,699
    Likes Received:
    3,503
    the HTC UN LOCKED devices feature this but the end carrier will have HTC customize the OS, hence why you see this tethering error...
     
  10. SDscorch

    SDscorch Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    9
    ahh! that could explain it!!
     
  11. UTnick

    UTnick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    7
    i hope someone figures something out pretty quick. my instinct was pretty simple to tether after a few changes and that came in very handy.
     
  12. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,699
    Likes Received:
    3,503
    ooh someone will. the PRO2 is like this but a simple registry edit to make ICS visible on the PRO2 was all it took. im sure the capability to tether thru the cellular connection is already on the phone,, it just needs to be un hidden...
     
  13. gilroykilroy

    gilroykilroy Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is not hidden on the phone. Sprint has a second NAI that will check whether or not you have a PAM plan. If you don't you will not be able to tether until someone figures out how to root/disable the second NAI.
     
  14. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,699
    Likes Received:
    3,503
    dont take that literally.. my main meaning is we can't use it now.. but in time someone will make it "visible" or "enabled" for us users... ;)
     
  15. Edaze55

    Edaze55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    1
    I cant believe this thread is still going.
     
  16. deviouskoopa

    deviouskoopa Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    i wanna know how to do this too, even though i never have a need to, it still looks awesome
     
  17. tagta3

    tagta3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    1
  18. LTZguy

    LTZguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    im interested in tethering too....
     

Share This Page

Loading...