New XTRSense question..


Last Updated:

  1. Nick021

    Nick021 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok.. So im just wondering why the proximity sensor doesnt work? Everytime im on the phone, i have to push buttons instead of the screen lighting back up. Why is it not working? Anyone else having this problem?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Shakes The AssClown

    Shakes The AssClown Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have XTR Sense and I do not have that problem. Works for me just fine.
     
  3. kobel1up

    kobel1up Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    16
    I will have to say this I may be on XtrRom but I do know what you mean about the sensor. I sometimes have to hit the volume button to turn it on or if that doesn't work I hit the power button. I will say its better to be off then on all the time.
     
  4. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    My first thought is that you need to clean the screen above the sensor. It seems like the SLIGHTEST bit of gunk there (even just a smear) can sometimes affect how the sensor works. Which is not to imply that you or your phone are dirty, just that the sensor needs near antiseptic conditions to work correctly. :)
     
  5. LadyBug_LaBate

    LadyBug_LaBate Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    8
    The problem is that when I'm on a phone call, the proximity sensor is supposed to shut off the screen so I don't "cheek dial" while talking, but it doesn't. I have cleaned the screen and it doesn't help. I"m not running XTR ROM I'm running XTRSense with LauncherPRO. My husband (Nick021) is running the same thing, with the same phone (Droid Eris Rooted) and his proximity sensor works. Can anyone help? Or is it a problem with my phone specifically?
     
  6. WormDoes

    WormDoes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    1,270
    I'm running xtrSENSE 4.2 and don't have that problem. Maybe try re flashing??
     
  7. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    Do you have a case on the phone, if so, is it covering or partially covering the sensor?
     
  8. pkopalek

    pkopalek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    117
    Even with screen protectors and stuff, that should work.

    Try this

    1) make a nand backup of your phone, in Recovery.

    2) use the RUU to re-flash your phone to 100% stock.

    3) *228 to activate because it will probably make you again

    4) make a phone call and see if the problem exists.

    If it exists, then take your phone to Verizon, and show them how it doesn't work.

    It's okay if the phone takes a volume button push to come back ON. But it should be shutting OFF when you put your face up to it, on a phone call. If it's not doing this, take it to Verizon.

    If the problem ISN'T there, then re-root your phone, get your Amon-RA recovery back on there, and restore your nand backup.

    Then, I suggest, re-flashing xtrSense/xtrROM.

    Those ROMs didn't touch ANYTHING in how the phone talks to those sensors, and has fully 100% stock functionality in that area. Should work.

    A wipe/wipe, and reflash is the best, if the RUU worked.
     
    LadyBug_LaBate likes this.
  9. KarateExplosion6

    KarateExplosion6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    21
    +1. This is a perfect way to detect whether the problem truly lies with your phone's proximity sensor or whether it's an issue with your specific flash of xtrSENSE. The only thing I'd like to add is to make sure you compare the MD5 checksums to those posted in zach.xtr's original post for the xtrSENSE version you are flashing. These checksums ensure that there is nothing corrupt or messed up with your .zip file before you flash.
     
  10. LadyBug_LaBate

    LadyBug_LaBate Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    8
    Will Verizon help me, even though my phone is rooted? Does that void the insurance/warrantee? Should I un-root it before I bring it in, in the case that the proximity sensor doesn't work after I do what is instructed above? (I would do it now, but my husband is much smarter than me when it comes to this, so I'll just have him do it later so I don't screw anything up lol)
     
  11. kobel1up

    kobel1up Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    16
    Just to play it safe I would unroot the phone before you take it in. If they want to keep the phone and give you a refurb, you can do it on the spot instead of I will be back later. Just a thought though.:D
     
    LadyBug_LaBate likes this.
  12. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,620
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    I agree with this.
     
  13. LadyBug_LaBate

    LadyBug_LaBate Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    8
    I just remembered my phone is "Water damaged" and by the quotations I mean the water never actually got in the phone, but there was a small amount of condensation on the inside of the back cover, just enough to turn the water damage sticker slightly red. Which likely means the warrantee/insurance is voided anyway. Bummer.
     
  14. pkopalek

    pkopalek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    117
    No, it'll be fine.

    That sticker turns red just sitting in your pocket, from the moisture from your skin.

    They know this. They'll look for other signs of 'real' water damage, like corrosion etc. Your warranty's not void. Just take it in to the store after flashing the RUU. Tell them you tried restarting and everything, and even doing a FULL wipe (as they will see, since you just RUU'd your phone).
     

Share This Page

Loading...