• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Preparing to root (Sprint HTC Hero) for the first time

About to make the commitment to rooting and flashing to Fresh 1.1, but before I start on that path, I just want to detail my plan and ask a few questions. This is my first time rooting, so any advice at all is super appreciated, especially considering how nervous I am about screwing up my beautiful phone.

1. Download that one program to downgrade/take off that recent firmware update
2. Download Fresh 1.1
3. Download File manager (any suggestions?)
4. Follow one-click rooting steps
5. Flash to Fresh 1.1
6. Download/use Nandroid to create a backup
7. Download and install patch for browser's flash player

Am I leaving anything out? Does the order look correct?

And the questions:

7. I've heard Fresh 1.1 erases some apps, but I'm guessing it's just the pointless Sprint ones? Aside from that, everything stays in tact, plus whatever apps are included in the mod, correct?

8. If I chicken out and later want to restore to standard factory setup again, it's doable, correct?

9. For apps2sd and wifi-tethering, are they relatively easy to figure out? I can figure things out pretty well, but those scary black prompt screens intimidate the hell out of me.

10. Most importantly, I just don't want to get most or all of the way through with this and find myself stuck or lost. Is that possible? I'd like to make this as painless as possible, and get on to saving my millions of apps onto the fat sd card that's on it's way to me right now. Any other pointers or suggestions you have would be great.

Thanks in advance.

About to make the commitment to rooting and flashing to Fresh 1.1, but before I start on that path, I just want to detail my plan and ask a few questions. This is my first time rooting, so any advice at all is super appreciated, especially considering how nervous I am about screwing up my beautiful phone.