Problems with SD card and internal memory


Last Updated:

  1. faz0062

    faz0062 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys!!

    not sure if i have posted this question in the correct bit (sorry if I haven't)!!

    I jsut bought the HTC desire and bought a 16GB SD card for it.

    I have downloaded apps and already its saying "low on storage space"

    I have no where near downloaded 16GB worth!
    I ahve checked the SD storage space and its got all 16GB of it left...which means the phone is not using the SD card! Its just using the internal memory...

    Does anybody know how to make is use the SD card?

    Please help?
     

    Advertisement
  2. macprv

    macprv Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    47
    i would first make sure that the device is detecting the card.. go to settings/sd and phone storage and make sure if displays the sdcard as mounted and the memory availability in the sdcard section, there you could also see if the internal memory is full
     
  3. faz0062

    faz0062 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi!

    it is detecting it as it shows its there and shows how much memory is left! Although the memory neever goes down on the SD as when the internal memory gets full it doesnt use the SD cards memory!
     
  4. york310

    york310 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Only certain apps can be stored on SD. Look for SDmove on app market or root and read several posts regarding apps2sd.
     
  5. dinaro

    dinaro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    19
    Apps are stored on internal memory (desire doesn't have lots of) unless you have Android 2.2 installed where you have the option to install apps to your SD card. There are also apps on the market that can help with this but I believe you'll still need Android 2.2
     
  6. faz0062

    faz0062 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi!

    how do you know if you have 2.2?
     
  7. faz0062

    faz0062 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have got 2.1...what now?
     
  8. gie62001

    gie62001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    25
    guess you have either to update it via official update if your phone has an update: menu>settings>about phone>system software updates>check now
    or read more on how you can get official or unofficial ROM onto your desire. guess you will have to root in that case
     

Share This Page

Loading...