[Q] 9/22/10 OTA Update and Root


Last Updated:

  1. steve053

    steve053 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    I just rooted earlier this week with unrEVOked. If I unroot and take tomorrow's OTA software update to 3.29.651.5 will I be able to root right away, or will I have to wait for a "root update"? I'm really interested in 30 fps uncapped (and I love my wireless tether).

    See this xda post for information about the update:
    HTC unlocks 30FPS - xda-developers
     

    Advertisement
  2. wake69

    wake69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    513

    You can install a kernel to unlock the 30fps. theoretically with unrevoked 3.21 you will be rooted even with the update. after the update within a few days, the updated rom will be rooted and i would wait for that, i wouldnt lose root again for anything. remember after the 2.2 update it took almost a month for root to be gained
     
  3. steve053

    steve053 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for the perspective.

    Guess I'm a little gunshy with flashing roms as I need my phone for work - and it has to WORK.
     
  4. wake69

    wake69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    513

    I am the same way, i have 3 email accts set up for work and my personal. If you rooted and have not bricked your phone, chances are if you flash a rom you will not brick as long as you do 4 things

    1. do a nand backup of your current settings
    2. wipe data/factory reset
    3. wipe cache
    4. wipe dalvik-cache

    then flash rom. You can keep your apps many different ways. I hear my backup pro may be the best way since it saves data too. when i have done a titanium backup to restore system data when changing roms i have always had issues, but if you save apps, restoring your settings is a piece of cake

    EDIT: I also use logmein through my phone for work when i am away from my office
     
    skbgiants likes this.
  5. skbgiants

    skbgiants Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1

    This is going to sound a bit silly, but hear me out please. So of course I'm rooted w/ S-OFF EVO 4g. I use Rom Managers Clockworkmod Recovery (same as nandroid) to back up everything. I also use MyBackUpPro and Titanium Backup Donate (able to run batch).

    So my question is, say I flash (and I have previously but then went back to my backed up rom) Bakedsnack rom. I can use TB and MyBackUp to reinstall apps and data THEN can I save that Bakedsnake Rom (with all my apps and data on it) via Rom Manager and name it something like "Baked". Then if I want to revert to my original Rom, I'm able to switch back and forth w/out having to reinstall all my settings, programs etc correct?



    Sorry if that is a bit long winded!

    Thanks!
     
  6. sitlet

    sitlet Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    633
    What if I'm rooted with the new unrevoked, but am still on the stock rom? The only reason I rooted was to use wireless tether, I dont want another rom. Should I be able to apply the update? Or do I have to unroot, then apply, then re-root? I would rather not flash the stock rom, I have a lot of stuff and settings I dont want to have to put back on.
     
  7. skbgiants

    skbgiants Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1

    I'm in a similar situation as I rarely use custom roms. I don't think the update will effect your root.

    I haven't even had it pushed to my EVO yet. From what I've read and SEEN from Unrevoked, still had root with S-OFF so he could flash roms if he wanted. Unrevoked roots, AND unlocks Nand security, AND keeps it off forever so you can flash. If the update screws anything up, it will be to probably "re-lock" nand, but still leave your rooted...which is what you want since you're not flashing roms. Hope that helps..and I hope I'm right!

    Oh one more thing. Now that you ARE rooted, tethering is great, however you should download ROM Manager and back up your device. It basically takes an image of your ENTIRE THING, Apps and their data, settings, screens...sort of like Norton Ghost for your PC. Works perfectly. I accidently wiped my phone to factory...and in 5 minutes EVERYTHING was back.
     
  8. lonlawrence

    lonlawrence Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    OK, I'm rooted 3.21. I deleted some bloatware. What are my options to get the OTA. Should I restore my nandroid and/or titanium backups I did before I deleted bloatware, or will the OTA download and install OK? Some guys say I'll have to re-root, others say NO, it keeps root. Some say you can't install OTA if you deleted bloatware. What's the whole story here?
     
  9. jtemple42000

    jtemple42000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    6
    I just rooted two days ago with 3.21. I followed the directions in the following link to install the OTA update....

    [Guide] How to apply the new OTA 3.29.651.5 when you have clockwork and s-off - xda-developers

    you keep root and s-off

    edit...
    I just re-read your post, I'm not sure how you deleting the bloatware will affect installing the OTA. My guess is that the update does not check for the bloatware you removed. It is just checking for "s-on" and the proper software versions. I'd follow the link I posted and and see what happens. I would think that worst case it would either reinstall the bloatware, or not apply the OTA update at all. my .02...
     
  10. lonlawrence

    lonlawrence Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Wouldn't work. It aborted. Must not like the uninstalled bloatware. Finally went with the OTA rooted ROM and am restoring with my titanium backup but running into problems. None of my apps will reinstall, keep getting "parse errors". This isn't working very well at all.
     

Share This Page

Loading...