Question about Sense UIGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. Brianm109

    Brianm109 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    5
    Kinda of new to this but why would someone want to disable Sense UI? What are the benefits?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Scynthetic78

    Scynthetic78 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    10
    The only real reason I've heard for disabling it is that the phone runs faster without it. Some people say it didn't make a difference for them though.
     
  3. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    very marginal difference if any at all....not worth it IMO.
     
  4. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    Some just like the look and feel of vanilla Android too. Not sure why you would get a phone with Sense if that is the case, but to each their own.
     
  5. Brianm109

    Brianm109 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks guys and one vampire....:)
     
  6. davros

    davros Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    15
    i was useing openhome with 1.5 but i like the 2.1 sense UI. the only thing i really dont like about it is the phone button thats it
     
  7. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,620
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    My phone does seem slightly less laggy with the normal home, but it is so marginal, and the usability is definitely not as good, to be worth it to me. I switched back to SenseUI.
     
  8. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    286
    With 1.5 I only ran home, I had no need for 7 screens 3 was perfect, the phone wasn't any faster but my dialer and on screen send/end buttons reacted better.

    Since I upgraded to 2.1 I tried running Home and for whatever reasons some programs weren't showing up and it was very laggy so I am using home and just using 3 screens right now. My phone is working smoother then it ever has

    But I still am not the biggest Sense UI fan , just my home isn't working all that great for me right now
     
  9. dewalist

    dewalist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    21
    I was looking for a "dock" functionality that Sense doesn't offer. I tried dxTop and was blown away with how natural the diamond layout works compared to the linear layout that Sense uses. Sense does look more polished, but dxTop is far more efficient and functional. IMHO, anyway...
     

Share This Page

Loading...