Question about the included 2gb


Last Updated:

  1. pantlesspenguin

    pantlesspenguin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    107
    Yesterday when I got my Vibrant I told the salesguy to swap out the included card w/ the 8gb card I've been using in my blackberry. He said that wouldn't be a good idea because there are other things on that card besides the movie. I didn't argue @ the time, but now I'm thinking about how much I'd like all my old stuff on my phone. Common sense says it won't hurt anything, but I just want to make sure. Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. 03machme

    03machme Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    15
    plug it into your comp and see what else is on there
     
  3. nikkisaurusrex

    nikkisaurusrex Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    the problem is the sales people don't know 100% whats going to happen so they have to say that to cover their asses if something does go wrong. i think it would be best to get one of those little card reader things that treats the sd as a regular size on and connect both to the computer, take everything off the 8GB one (except what you want to keep) and transfer everything from the 2GB over to it, just cause if the 2GB was included with the phone it probably contains folders that may be useful (like folders for ringtones and such)
     
  4. pantlesspenguin

    pantlesspenguin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    107
    That's another thing. I tried connecting my phone (w/ the 2gb card in it) to my computer to transfer some stuff, but my computer didn't recognize the device @ all! It showed that SOMETHING was connected in the task tray, but when I went to send files to the phone, the phone wasn't an option in the "send to" menu. Any advice on that?
     
  5. cigar3tte

    cigar3tte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    14
    Your phone should notify you that it's been connected to a computer, and giving you the option to mount USB storage.
     
    pantlesspenguin likes this.
  6. pantlesspenguin

    pantlesspenguin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    107
    Oh, thanks for that! I didn't even look @ my phone after I plugged it in. On my BB it just automatically showed up in the menu so I assumed the Vibrant would be the same. I'll try again when I get back home. Thanks!!
     
  7. cigar3tte

    cigar3tte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    14
    Because the microSD can only be used by one device, either your phone or your PC. When you don't mount it, your phone keeps access to it. When you mount it, the PC sees the content, your phone does not. If you have ringtones on your card, your phone will jump back to default ring if a call comes in. Same with apps that use the card, they won't see a card when it's mounted to PC.
     
  8. pantlesspenguin

    pantlesspenguin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    107
    This makes perfect sense. Thanks again!
     
  9. Nickk

    Nickk Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    12
    There is nothing else on the 2gb card than the movie. It takes up almost the entire thing.
     
  10. Puraw Wave

    Puraw Wave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yah, the only thing on my 2GB is the movie, and it's about 1.4 GB I think. But the apps I've installed all save their data on the included 16 GB by default, so hasn't been a big deal for me yet.
     

Share This Page

Loading...