• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Random App starts and other oddities

Firstly, whilst I consider myself to be quite technically adept I am a bit of a newbie when it comes to the android OS.

I have a HTC Desire HD that is running a custom rom (N5 Experience Version) running Android 4.4.2. Most of my apps are downloaded from google play but I also have a few sideloaded ones. The phone is of course rooted.

My biggest mode of confusion is with process management. Being linux under the hood you would think process (task) management would be easier than with windows but it confuses the hell out of me.

I have a few issues.

1. Apps appear to randomly start, even when the phone is idle and data, bluetooth, etc is switched off I have advanced task manager installed and I've had it open waited for a few minutes, killed all tasks and then after a few more minutes a bunch of tasks have started again. This isnt just stuff like sms or the dialer, its games, random applications, even google chrome and opera start up randomly. I have scanned the phone with both avast antivirus and malwarebytes and there are no threats detected. What could be causing this? Is there a way to stop or prevent it? Bear in mind that this has happened to me within the last three days even after a full factory reset, wipe of all caches and reinstall of the rom.

2. My calls sometimes keep disconnecting. This is again at random. I could be in the middle of a call and suddenly it disconnects with no warning. Other times its fine. This seems independent of network coverage, time of day, battery level or credit remaining.

3. Again at random, when I make a call wifi, bluetooth and the flashlight will turn on. Again not all the time but often enough for it to be a battery draining annoyance.

Does anyone have a solution to any of the above issues, or has anyone experienced similar problems.